Le Voyage Dans La Lune (A Trip to the Moon) #MovieReview

So… I just finished watching what is unquestionably the oldest film ever to exist! Le Voyage Dans La Lune (A Trip to the Moon). Released in 1902 and is about 16 minutes long came about six years after the release of cinema (Fun Fact – The first ever footage ever filmed was a few seconds on everyday life on Leeds Bridge in 1896). It’s safe to say that the iconic image of the moon is really cool to look at. Even at 112 years old, it still looks amazing to look at. Granted I’d only seen images of this and not any actual footage so I didn’t know about the blood pouring out of the eye when they landed. Overall, I enjoyed it. The lively Selenites (or Aliens as I called them) were played by acrobats from Paris’s famous music hall, The Folies Bergere. If you’ve seen this, then let me know what you thought but right now here is what I had to say about 1902’s “Le Voyage Dans La Lune” (A Trip to the Moon)

Image

Film – A Trip to the Moon (Le Voyage Dans La Lune)
Year – 1902
Director – Georges Melies
Staring – Georges Melies, Jules-Eugene Legris, Victor Andre
IMDb Rating – 8.2
My Rating – 8.0
 
The oldest film ever! I’m about to have a history lesson
Reading
We open in what looks like a church
Are we in a middle of a panto?
Those telescopes just turned into stools
“Here’s the deal, I want to fire my telescope into the moon”
“Brilliant idea!”
“Let’s celebrate”
What the hell is going on?
This music isn’t helping my confusion
Now we’re in a factory and they’re building the telescope
“Work faster!”
“We’re going as fast as we can!”
It’s a man on a not tin roof
EXPLOSION!
“Everyone get inside my telescope”
So the telescope is a space rocket?
What the hell is going on?
The men board a metal case and it gets places in the telescope looking thing
“Goodbye”
“Prepare for blast off!”
They fire the rocket at the moon
That moon has a face!
Right in the eye
The men get out of the case and explore the moon
I maybe confused as to what’s happening but I’m enjoying it
EXPLOSIONS IN SPACE!!!
“Time for bed”
“Lucky I brought these blankets”
How are they breathing on the moon?
Logic dictated that they would be dead by now
Snow!! In Space! What the fuck?!
“Let’s escape”
The men hide inside the moon’s core and find it’s full of mushrooms
ALIEN!
“Kill it!”
One of the men kills it and it turns into smoke
Suddenly more appear and they escape
The aliens have taken them to their lair
That was clearly a dummy he killed
“Run away!”
“I’ll use by umbrella as a sword”
They get back in the case and escape just in the nick of time
By escape I mean the case falls off a cliff into the sea back on Earth
Note to self – DON’T VISIT THE MOON
A parade leads the men into town and everyone celebrates
The music has done all techno
One of the aliens made it to Earth
Instead of killing it, they dance with it
THE END

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.