Sabotage #MovieReview

Film 348 in the “1187 films to see before you die” challenge is 1936’s “Sabotage”. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock and loosely based on Joseph Conrad’s novel entitled “The Secret Agent”, this thriller film sees a Scotland Yard undercover detective on the trail of a saboteur who is part of a plot to set off a bomb in London. But when the detective’s cover is blown, the plot begins to unravel. That’s what IMDb says at least. What I say before the film told me to watch The Simpsons (yes that actually happened) was a confusing plot about a evil man who looks like Tommy Lee Jones who can somehow cause all of London to blackout who also manages a cinema with his daughter (I think) who is constantly being chatted up by, what I dubbed him as, Dickhead Market Seller, who just so happens to be a detective for Scotland Yard. Is your head spinning because mine sure as hell was trying to watch this. I can see why this film barely made it onto The Independent’s list of Hitchcock’s films as it doesn’t hold up today. It barely managed to get a mention ranking 20 out of 20. I managed 22 minutes before my head exploded with questions. Why is the Market Seller a dick? Is he trying to flirt with the evil man’s daughter? Why does the evil man have a 7 year old slave? Who has evil meetings in aquariums? Who? What? Why? When? AARRGGHH!! Another bad thing about the film was I could not see or hear anything. I know the point of the film is blackouts but at least make it visible enough on screen for me to see something that isn’t moving shadows against a backdrop. Overall, I didn’t enjoy this film and I can’t recommend it to anyone. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1936’s “Sabotage”

1079.jpg

Film – Sabotage
Year – 1936
Director – Alfred Hitchcock
Written By – Charles Bennett
Starring – Sylvia Sidney, Oskar Homolka, Desmond Tester
IMDb Rating – 7.1/10
My Rating – LEFT TO WATCH THE SIMPSONS
Length – 76 mins (1h 16min)
Genre – Thriller

We open with a dictionary definition on the word “Sabotage” – ‘Wilful destruction of buildings or machinery with the object of alarming a group of persons or inspiring public uneasiness”
Wait… The Walt Disney helped in this???
The film starts with a blackout in London
Cut to the London Underground where everyone seems to be having fun
Who shoves egg on toast in people’s ears?
I can’t see anything
The bad guy reminds me of Tommy Lee Jones
The evil man decides to rest with a newspaper over his face in bed
The evil man is called Carl
Wait… What business are they running?
Is this market seller trying to flirt with her by being a dick?
Even with all the power back on I can’t see anything
Err.. Why are we taking about kidney failure while cooking actual kidneys?
11 minutes in and I have no idea what’s happening
Dickhead Market Seller barges in with cabbages
“Someone just committed a murder. Probably did by that scream” – Cuts to a movie theatre
So… Dickhead Market Seller is a detective???
It’s now Thursday and Dickhead Market Seller gets told off for leaving a cabbage leaf on the pavement
Erm… Is there a reason why Carl has hired a small child as his servant?
Cut to Carl in SeaWorld
“There’s funny looking things” – It’s a turtle
WHY ARE WE IN SEAWORLD? Does London have a SeaWorld?
Maybe it’s The Deep in Hull?
I have no idea what they are saying? Maybe if they SPOKE LOUDER!!
Or better yet, don’t have meetings in a public area like aquariums
Did he say “Explosive selfies”
Harry Potter? What are you doing here?
21 mins in and I still have no idea what’s happening
They just mentioned The Simpsons
Now I want to watch some
I’m going to just that because this film told me to
GOODBYE

Leave a Reply

