Garfield #MovieReview

Well… So much for this being a daily challenge. Regardless, I decided to make the challenge more fun by adding Cineplexity cards to the mix. For those who aren’t aware, Cineplexity is a card game where you have to come up with film suggestions based on the card. The first card I ended up drawing was “Sick or Tired Characters”. As soon as I pulled that, I knew exactly who fitted the tired character trade. Which meant I had to watch 2004’s “Garfield: The Movie”. Based on the comic strip of the same name and directed by Peter Hewitt, this animated family comedy sees Jon (Breckin Meyer) buys a second pet, a dog named Odie. However, Odie is then abducted and it is up to Jon’s cat, Garfield (voiced by Bill Murray), to find and rescue the canine. After watching this film, I now hate myself. This film is the definition of depression. Terrible jokes that I don’t think kids would laugh at. A love story that’s there because… Just because! And even worse than all that! Having to listen to The Black Eyed Peas! They could’ve used more than one song but instead they chose to play “Hey Mama” twice. In fairness, I don’t think you can get a dog to dance to “Where is the Love?” Throughout the film, I had this feeling that having Bill Murray play Garfield seemed like a good idea on paper but it didn’t work here. He sounded bored. The only time he didn’t was right at the end when he sang James Brown. Badly, may I add. I would’ve been happy enough if this film was just, ‘Here’s Garfield. That lazy cat. Look at him sleeping and eating lasagna.’ I would’ve been fine with it. But instead we get human actors you forget are there for the majority of the film, two of them end up having a love story that no one cares about and a weirdly animated fat ginger cat voiced by a bored Bill Murray. Overall, this film has made me rediscover depression. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 2004’s “Garfield: The Movie”

garfield_ver5_xlg

Film – Garfield
Year – 2004
Director – Peter Hewitt
Written By – Alec Sokolow & Joel Cohen
Starring – Breckin Meyer, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Bill Murray
IMDb Rating – 5/10
My Rating – 2.5/10
Length – 80 mins (1h 20min)
Genre – Comedy, Animation, Family

AARRRGGGGHHH!!! WHY DID I HAVE TO PICK THIS??!?!
What the hell is this song?
“I hate Mondays” – Think everyone can agree with that
And Garfield does what all cats do when they want food is knock stuff over
So they used real cats but animated their faces?
Did they really make a “Got Milk?” joke?
Just what everyone wanted to see, a animated cat dancing to James Brown
Wait… Garfield is friends with the rats???
Was that meant to be a 4th wall joke about over exposure?
A cat show host that’s allergic to cats?
So… Jon is using Garfield’s vet visits to hit on the vet?
So… Vets can just give away pets to owners without their knowledge?
Shout out to Jon’s Volvo
All I’ve seen Jon do so far this entire film is carry shopping
18 minutes in and I’m already bored
Don’t you hate it when you try to explain your plan of action only for it to happen to you
“I think I’m about to blow cat-chow chunks” – So am I the more I watch this
OH NO!!!!! NOT THE BLACK EYED PEAS!!!!
What am I watching?
That’s for explaining everything, Nermal
So… Jon and Liz take Odie to a dog show while they go on a date
Also… The only reason I know Liz’s name is because of a name tag on the judges table
FOR FUCK SAKE!!! MORE BLACK EYED PEAS!!! AND IT’S THE SAME SONG TO BOOT!!!
Technically this dance by Odie shouldn’t count as he wasn’t in the competition
And Odie wins the competition despite not entering
Do we really need a love story tied on top of this film?
You have to love the domino effect
And that all happened between Jon leaving Liz’s truck to entering the front door
This film is making me depressed
And now that Odie’s been kicked out of the house by Garfield, he decides to chase scooters, cars and dog food vans
Also, when did this film care more about Odie now? Thought this was Garfield: The Movie?
Wait…. The bad guy only wants a dog just so he can beat his rival for an Emmy?
Wait… These were high school sweethearts?
Also… Has Jon lost his ability to listen to Garfield?
And now the evil man has Odie by lying about being his owner
And now for a montage of dogs in TV and movies
And now The Evil Guy is now German
Half way through the film to finally know The Evil Guy’s name – It’s Happy
Garfield decides to rescue Odie after finding an address on the back of a box of cat biscuits
ESPN’s Best Damn Sports Show Ever?
Don’t you hate it when everything you love leaves you?
I feel like I say a similar scene to this in Toy Story 2
Now I feel like I’m watching a bad Mission Impossible movie
So… Happy put a shock collar on Odie to make him dance? ANIMAL CRUELTY IN A KIDS MOVIE!!!!
And now for Garfield to skateboard with a tray
Good thing there’s this lasagna truck to break Garfield’s fall
And Garfield has been arrested by animal protection
Why is Garfield singing “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot”
And now for the lesson of the film
Worst Animal Control police ever
Meanwhile with Jon and Liz
And back with Happy who’s just board his 1st class train to New York
And Garfield just missed the train
And that’s why security guards lock doors before leaving their post
As if trains can stop like that
And Garfield has saved Odie only for Happy to find them
Also, how was Happy allowed access to the luggage claim at Los Angeles Train Station
Wait.. Are we in LA?
Eventually Jon and Liz arrive to take them home
Wait… We’re in the Midwest?
And back to the love story that no one cares about
OH NO!!! Bill Murray as Garfield singing James Brown…. Badly!

Leave a Reply

