Wallace and Gromit’s A Grand Day Out #MovieReview

Time for the second film in the 2017 Film challenge. I decided that after watching Birdemic, a film that drained me of all my energy, I needed something I knew I would like. So I decided on 1989’s “Wallace and Gromit’s A Grand Day Out” or “A Grand Day Out” for short. Written and directed by Nick Park, this short animated adventure film sees Wallace (Peter Sallis) and Gromit spend a bank holiday together by building a homemade rocket to the Moon to sample cheese. Because everyone know’s that the moon is made of cheese…. Right? Overall, this was a nice film to watch. It has a simple and easy story to follow that even when I was a kid watching this on VHS I understood what was happening. I did find myself asking two questions after this was over. The first one being that we never found out what type of cheese is on the moon. Well, according to an old fable, “The Moon is made of green cheese”. There’s a whole Wikipedia article on this so feel free to visit it by clicking the link in the brackets (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Moon_is_made_of_green_cheese). The other question I asked myself was, what was that robot on the moon? Was it an oven on wheel with a money meter? Was it a kitchen drawer with arms on wheels? Or is it an olympic skier trapped in a robot hence why it’s always dreaming of skiing? I’m probably thinking too much into this. Again, this is a nice enjoyable film to watch. It’s only 23 minutes long so I can’t see why you wouldn’t take some time to watch it. Fun fact – Peter Sallis, the voice of Wallace, was only paid £50 to do the voice of Wallace. Money well spent I would say considering the legacy Wallace and Gromit would go on to have. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1989’s “Wallace and Gromit’s A Grand Day Out”

Wallace_&_Gromit_in_A_Grand_Day_Out.jpg

Film – Wallace and Gromit’s A Grand Day Out
Year – 1989
Director – Nick Park
Written By – Nick Park
Starring – Peter Sallis
IMDb Rating – 7.8/10
My Rating – 8/10
Length – 23 mins
Genre – Animation, Adventure, Short

And there’s that classic theme tune
We open with Wallace and Gromit looking through holiday brochures
Don’t you just hate not knowing what to do on Bank Holidays
NO!!!! THERE’S NO CHEESE!!! You can’t have crackers without cheese
Wait… Wallace has a brochure for Cheese Holidays
“Everybody knows that the moon is made of cheese” – Wallace after thinking of somewhere to go
And now to draw plans for a rocket
Not sure it’s safe to be sawing things while on top of the thing you’re sawing
That and I don’t think you’re meant to use your dog as support
All that painting and Wallace only got three drops on him – Usually if I’m painting half the tin goes all over the floor
And now to light the rocket and head to the moon
Pretty sure NASA doesn’t use matches to fire it’s rockets
NO!!! Wallace forgot the crackers!!!
With mere seconds to spare, Wallace returns to the rocket
Pretty sure if I felt rumblings like that in our neighbourhood, you’d think to check them out
So… We’re in space? Now what?
Well if you’re Gromit you build a house of cards
Wait… Wallace build a toaster into his rocket’s control panel?
So… The moon really is made of cheese! Now to figure out what type
Cut to Wallace and Gromit finding a vending machine on wheels
Is it meant to be an oven with a meter?
Aw!!! The thing’s sad! All it wants is to go skiing
Wait… Did that just give Wallace’s rocket a parking ticket?
Damn! If only I had legs to climb this ladder!
“Hold tight, lad. I think I’ve Lancashire Hotpot” – Did Wallace admit that he just crapped himself?
NO!!!!! The robot fell out of the rocket and remains stuck on the moon – 😦
Turns out the robot can get his wish after all! He’s turn broken rocket parts into skies – All is good again
THE END

Leave a Reply

