Persona #MovieReview

Film 343 in the ‘1001 Films to See Before You Die’ challenge is 1966’s “Persona”. Directed by Ingmar Bergman, this Swedish horror thriller drama is about a young nurse named Alma (Bibi Andersson) and her patient, a well-known stage actress named Elisabet Vogler (Liv Ullmann), who has suddenly ceased to speak. First of all, I had no clue what was happening. There were no subtitles to translate the dialogue so trying to figure out who’s who and what’s happening is really hard. Second, I found the overall film to be dull and boring. At no point was I interested in what’s happening. Lastly, the first 6 minutes before the opening credits were completely pointless. Were they there to fill time? In 1990, Ingmar Bergman had this to say about the film, “At some time or other, I said that ‘Persona’ saved my life. That is no exaggeration. If I had not found the strength to make that film, I would probably have been all washed up… for the first time I did not care in the least whether the result would be a commercial success.’ So… Bergman made this film while he was depressed? Overall, I found this film to be boring to watch. I managed 25 minutes before giving in. Fun Fact – Woody Allen would pay homage to this film’s famous scene at the end of his film, 1975’s “Love and Death”. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1966’s “Persona”
Persona_4.jpgFilm – Persona
Year – 1966
Director – Ingmar Bergman
Written by – Ingmar Bergman
Staring – Bibi Andersson, Liv Ullmann, Margaretha Krook
IMDb Rating – 8.2/10
My Rating –  ZZZzzz
Length – 78 min (1h 18min)
Genre – Drama, Thriller, Horror

We open with the film giving me epilepsy

Cut to a spider… and a sheep bleeding to death

JESUS!!!! Wasn’t prepared for that – From a sheep bleeding to a close up of a nail going through a hand

Cut to a sleeping old woman as a phone rings

Then we cut to a Harry Potter lookalike reading in bed

So…. This kid has a random slide show of his parents projected on the his wall?

And now we get the opening credits!!! 6 minutes in!!

And we have no subtitles!!! FFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUU………

After a meeting, a nurse visits a patient

Who is she talking to? Why won’t the camera show us?

Someone clearly hates radio dramas

I haven’t a clue what’s happening

Can’t go to sleep without applying Vaseline to my face

Time to watch TV… Oh look, it’s a monk setting himself on fire in the middle of a protest

That letter can’t really be this long! The paper it was written on looked about the size of a business card

Still have no idea what’s happening and I’ve done 21 minutes

Cut to two women in straw hats cleaning stones on the beach

Why has the nurse taken one of her patients to the seaside?

Wait… Is this patient now staying at the nurse’s house? Are you allowed to do that?

ZZZzzz

Leave a Reply

