Breakfast at Tiffany’s #MovieReview

Film 341 in the ‘1001 Films to See Before You Die’ challenge is 1961’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. Directed by Blake Edwards and based on Truman Capote’s novel of the same name, this romantic comedy drama is about a young New York socialite becomes interested in a young man who has moved into her apartment building. Honestly… I found this film to be really boring. Maybe it’s because I’ve seen the exact same plot sympthosis in other films. Girl finds man, girl loves man, man secretly has another woman he likes, man tells other woman to do one and lives happily ever after with girl. There’s a lot of moments where I felt like things were just going on and on and was just waiting for some form of climax to the scene. Instead it just ended and moved on. But I guess the biggest talking point of the film is Mickey Rooney as Yoshioshi. If the producer of the film says “we f*cked up” with our casting then you know something’s gone wrong. But in 2008, Mickey Rooney had this to say about the role, “Blake Edwards wanted me to do it because he was a comedy director. They hired me to do this overboard, and we had fun doing it. Never in all the more than 40 years after we made it – not one complaint. Every place I’ve gone in the world people say, ‘God, you were so funny.’ Asians and Chinese come up to me and say, ‘Mickey you were out of this world.'” My opinion… I only needed one look to see why people complained. I managed 33 minutes before giving in. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1961’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

poster-4098.jpg

Film – Breakfast at Tiffany’s
Year – 1961
Director – Blake Edwards
Written by – George Axelrod
Based On – “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” by Truman Capote
Staring – Audrey Hepburn, George Peppard, Patrica Neal
IMDb Rating – 7.8/10
My Rating – I’M BORED NOW
Length – 109 min (1h 49min)
Genre – Comedy, Drama, Romance

We open in a very empty New York at a taxi drops off Holly

Oh… Mickey Rooney! – I can see why people would be offended

If you’ve had to buzz that many times then either their out or just ignoring you

Erm… Who keeps shoes in the fridge? – In fairness, I did see a wrestler put a championship belt in the fridge once

Sally Tomato?

For someone who dresses in fancy expensive clothing, she does leave her shoes in weird places

How big is that hat?

You have a make-up kit in our buzzer?

You hesitated a bit when you said “decorator”

Well that guy banging on the doors sounds like a creep

You’re being awfully flirty for a decorator?

So… You break into your new neighbours apartment and help yourself to bourbon while flirting?!

Well that’s one way to water plants

Holly really has no track of time or date – Has he heard of a calender?

What are snoops?

So… Holly’s having a party… Just because

Is she wearing a towel for a dress?

Really? I’ve watched 28 minutes already? Ok then

She’s a phoney! HEY EVERYONE! SHE’S A PHONEY! A BIG PHONEY!!!!

SHUT UP OJ

Mam… You’re hat’s on fire… Ok not anymore

So… You just invite anyone to your parties?

What the hell is Mag wearing?

Rusty looks like Drew Carey with blonde hair

I’M BORED NOW!

One thought on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s #MovieReview

Leave a Reply

