The Tree of Life #MovieReview

Film 331 in the ‘1001 Films to see before you die’ challenge is 2011’s “The Tree of Life”. Directed by Terrence Malick, this fantasy drama is about the origins and meaning of life by way of a middle-aged man’s childhood memories of his family living in 1950s Texas, interspersed with imagery of the origins of the known universe and the inception of life on Earth. Just reading the title of this film made me groan and I hadn’t even started watching it. Then I read the plot and I groaned some more. Then I read a few reviews online and why this film was added to the list and, from what I’ve gathered, is that the plot is irrelevant. It’s just there for the sake of having one. The only reason this film is on this list is because the amount of B-Roll. Shots of trees, skies, roofs, shadows… Basically anything that doesn’t have any actors in the shot. So if you want to save yourself some money then just look at the posters for this film. There, I just save you 132 minutes. And that this film in a nutshell. Fun Fact – The “tree of life” that appears in the film is a gargantuan, a 80-100 year old oak tree in Smithville, Texas. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 2011’s “The Tree of Life”
tree_of_life_ver2.jpg
Film – The Tree of Life
Year – 2011
Director – Terrence Malick
Written by – Terrence Malick
Staring – Brad Pitt, Sean Penn, Jessica Chastain
IMDb Rating – 6.7/10
My Rating – Just look at the poster
Length – 132 min (2h 12min)
Genre – Drama, Fantasy

“The producers of this DVD recommend that you play it loud” – Why couldn’t they raise the volume in the editing?

We open with a quote from Job 38:4,7

We then open with a shot of….. something while a man whispers about exiting his mothers door

So…. This film really likes talking about Christianity

Someone’s died and I have no idea who

From what I’ve gathered from a couple of reviews, the plot is irrelevant and you only watch this for the B-Roll

I wish I knew what was happening

So… It’s their son who’s died?

I already want to throw this DVD out of the window

Yep… It’s forcing shit down my throat that I don’t care about

SO I QUIT

One thought on “The Tree of Life #MovieReview

Leave a Reply

