The Thin Blue Line #MovieReview

Film 332 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1988’s “The Thin Blue Line”. Directed by Errol Morris, this mystery crime documentary is about the story of Randall Dale Adams, a man convicted and sentenced to death for the murder of a police officer named Robert Wood, a crime he did not commit. Adams’s case was reviewed and he was released from prison approximately a year after the film’s release thanks to new evidence that was shown in this film. Just reading that make me think that the Dallas police back in the mid 70’s were either clueless or Errol Morris found something they didn’t know until this film came out. The first complaint I have about this film is that I had no clue what anyone was talking about. One minute they talk about Randall watching “The Swinging Cheerleaders” at a drive-in movie then the next they show a re-enactment of a policewoman caring more about her Burger King whopper and milkshake then her partner being shot four times and killed. In others words, there’s no flow. One minute they talk about one thing then something else a minute later. My next complaint would be that this film didn’t even bother telling me who anyone was. It just assumed the audience knew who everyone was. The only reason I knew who Randall was was because he said, “I’m Randall”. Apart from that, no one told us who they were and there was no graphic/lower third telling us who they were. I just looked at some of these people and just referred to them, in my head, as “Fat man in suit #1”, “Man in orange shirt” and “Fat man in suit wearing glasses”. Out of the 33 minutes I watched, I remember nothing. All I remember was the film constantly showing be close-ups of an ashtray and constant shots of Burger King products and The Comfort Motel sign. So is this film a massive endorsement for Burger King? No, but I do miss their old logo. Overall, I have no memory of what I just watched and I just switched it off 5 minutes ago. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I have to say while watching 1988’s “The Thin Blue Line”

thin_blue_line_xlg.jpg

Film – The Thin Blue Line
Year – 1988
Director – Errol Morris
Written by – Errol Morris
Staring – Randall Dale Adams, David Harris, Gus Rose
IMDb Rating – 8.1/10
My Rating – Huh?
Length – 100 min  (1h 40min)
Genre – Documentary, Crime, Mystery
We open with shots of Ohio

So… They moved from Ohio to Dallas with nothing but a shotgun?!

So… The man in the white shirt in this film is Randall Adams

So… He shot a policeman who was stopping him for a traffic inspection?!

The policeman’s name is Robert Wood

Dec 21 1976 and Randall is taken to jail for shooting Robert

“I do not like looking down a barrel of a pistol” – Does anyone?

“I asked him about his likes and dislikes” – Are you arresting him or asking him out for drinks?

Can you stop showing me the cigarette ashtray so much? – We get it, everyone smoked!

Shout out to Burger King

So… The police pulled Randall over because he was driving in the dark with his lights off

You can clearly tell those shots of the shooting are re-enactments – And they’re not good

So… They gave the female policewoman who was with Robert a bollocking for not being quick to respond to Robert being shot

So… She cared more about her Burger King milkshake then protecting Robert?!

They made this sound like she to blame for everything

Stop trying to hypnotise me!

Now to visit Vidor, Texas

Why does this film insist on not telling me who anyone is? – Is it really that hard to put up a 3 second graphic with the person’s name?

So… Are these people being interviewed in the woods Randall’s friends?

I’m really confused about what’s happening

Shout out to The Comfort Motel with it’s colour TV’s and budget rooms

Now to watch 1974’s “Swinging Cheerleaders” at a drive-in movie

This cheerleader film is really bad from the clips they are using

And it’s no surprise that IMDb has this cheerleader film at 5.1 out of 10

27 minutes in and I have no clue what’s happening

That’s not writing! Those are clearly scribbles!

Why is it that no one can remember the shooting?

So… The Dallas Police have been running license plates on the complete different car then they thought

“There’s a difference between a Vega and a Comet” – Yeah… They’re made by two different companies

I’M TOO BORED TO CONTINUE

 

Leave a Reply

