Jerry Lewis’s The Nutty Professor #MovieReview

Film 330 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1963’s “The Nutty Professor”. Directed and staring Jerry Lewis and based on Robert Louis Stevenson’s novel “Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde”, this sci-fi comedy is about a nerdy professor who drinks a potion that temporarily turns him into the handsome, but obnoxious, man named Buddy Love. So… For those who can recall I had seen one Jerry Lewis film in the challenge and I recall not lasting long watching it. And it’s the same situation here. Never have I wanted to physically yell “FOR FUCK SAKE” off the top of my lungs while watching a film. I wanted to with this but I can because it’s late and the neighbour’s kid has to get up for primary school in the morning. This film made me punch a hole through my wall. First of all, the main character is annoying from the first second you see him. He is a human Professor Frink from The Simpsons only Jerry Lewis more annoying and doesn’t wear a green jacket with pink pants! Also, I had no clue what he was saying. Even the subtitles had no clue what he was saying! The subtitles just said “Random Gibberish”. I’m not kidding. Fun Fact #1 – In 2003, Jerry Lewis would go on to voice the father of Professor Frink in The Simpsons. Overall, this film will make you punch holes in everything and rage quit. I managed 14 minutes before I gave up. Fun Fact #2 – This film would be remake in 1996 staring Eddie Murphy. So go watch that version! If you have seen this film or the Eddie Murphy version then let me know what you thought of them in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1963’s “The Nutty Professor”
nuttyprofessor_1963_mp_hs_1200.jpg

Film – The Nutty Professor
Year – 1963
Director – Jerry Lewis
Written by – Jerry Lewis, Bill Richmond
Based On – “Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde” by Robert Louis Stevenson
Staring – Jerry Lewis, Stella Stevens, Del Moore
IMDb Rating – 6.7/10
My Rating – Punching holes in walls is more fun
Length – 88 min (1h 28min)
Genre – Comedy, Sci-Fi

We open with a professor making a mess in his lab in front of students during the opening credits

And he just blew up his lab!

So… Having dead air in a film is fun

Jesus! It’s the human Professor Frink from The Simpsons! Only I can’t make out what he’s saying

I’m already falling asleep

The amount of overacting this boss displaying is off the charts

I’d rather watch the Eddie Murphy version now

Let’s face it. Football practise seems better than this class

And Kelp has been shoved on a shelve by a student he denied letting leave early

I’m laughing out loud right now – Can you tell I was being sarcastic?

Missed her next class? Class only lasted 3 minutes!!!!

Kelp then decides to visit a gym so he can get muscles

Is it a requirement for everyone in this gym to wear the same gear?

EXCUSE ME WHILE I GO BANG MY HEAD AGAINST EVERY SOLID OBJECT IN MY HOUSE

Leave a Reply

