Bonnie & Clyde #MovieReview

Film 325 in the ‘1001 Films to See Before You Die’ challenge is 1967’s “Bonnie & Clyde”. Directed by Arthur Penn and based on the real lives of Bonnie Parker and Clyde Barrow, this biographical crime drama is about a somewhat romanticized account of the career of the notoriously violent bank robbing couple played by Warren Beatty (who also produced the film) and Faye Dunaway. I wasn’t quite sure what to make of this film when I heard it made the list. I’d never heard about it and all I knew about it was that it was based on true events. Now that I have seen it, I quite enjoyed it. The only thing I didn’t like was the character of Blanche Barrow. Fun Fact – The real Blanche Barrow complained that Estelle Parsons’s portrayal of her made her look like “a screaming horse’s ass”. She said this in an interview with John Neal Phillips. She not wrong. I just wanted someone to kill her and I didn’t care who. All she did was scream and give me a massive headache. Everyone else… A+. Estelle Parsons… F! The final scenes were a real eye popper. I didn’t expect that to happened the way it did. And for that, I liked it. Overall, this is a film I can recommend and still holds up after almost 50 years. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1967’s “Bonnie & Clyde”
011-bonnie-and-clyde-theredlist.jpegFilm – Bonnie and Clyde
Year – 1967
Director – Arthur Penn
Written by – David Newman, Robert Benton, Robert Towne
Staring – Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway, Michael J. Pollard
IMDb Rating – 7.9/10
My Rating – 8/10
Length – 105 min (1h 45min)
Genre – Biography, Crime, Drama

Nothing like looking back at some old family pics

Why does the sound effect sound like a baby sucking on a pacifier

Now for a quick bio on Bonnie & Clyde

We open with Bonnie banging on a bed in the nude

I’m assuming that this is Clyde

Did they just teleport from the countryside to the town centre?

It’s clear that they are drinking Coke. They just removed the labels

How to impress a woman as Clyde – Rob a store

This makes it look like it’s easy to have sex while driving

You made me so mad that I’ve crumbled my hat in rage

We’re in Texas? Alright then

How does Clyde know everything about Bonnie?

What’s with everyone leaving their car’s unlocked? – They’re just asking to be stolen

Morning… Fancy shooting bottles to wake you up?

How to take out your revenge out on your bank – Shoot at their signs and at your old house

Did they change cars again?

Oh no they just put the convertible roof up

Now to rob me a bank

Wait… If you haven’t had customers in three weeks then why is it still open?

All that for $1.98!!!!

Now to rob me a grocers out of some food

Never bring a meat cleaver to a gun fight

And they’ve changed cars again! – That’s car 4

They then meet with CW Moss and try to recruit him to their gang

Is Moss technically stealing from himself?

Don’t you hate it when you’re trying to sleep and someone’s snoring

And now they’re on Car 5

Just casually rob a bank in the middle of the day and no one outside seemed to care

Moss looks like too much of a babyface to be a criminal

And now for sex – Good thing Clyde closed the blinds so no one could see them

And that ended quickly as Clyde says “I ain’t no lover boy”

Clyde’s brother returns from prison with his wife Blanche

What the hell is Moss wearing?

Where did Clyde get that Tommy Gun from?

Nothing like a Kodak Moment

I think Clyde’s brother needs a new jacket

Everyone fancy a trip to Missouri?

So… If you chop your toes off in prison you can be released on parole a week later?!?

So… Are we in Missouri now?

First film in this challenge to mention Dr Pepper

I can see what the real Blanche meant when she called Estelle Parsons “A screaming horse’s ass”

Stop the car… or drive into a random field

That’s one way to get a free newspaper

Shout out to Arp, Texas

Don’t you hate it when your driving and you need the toilet but there’s no services for miles

Clyde really likes destroying hats

Why would a Texas Ranger travel all the way to Missouri to find Bonnie, Clyde & Co.

How to torture a ranger – Take photos with him

Spit on my woman!!!! Now you die!

Or we can handcuff you and leave you in the middle of a pond on a boat to die

And now to run away to Oklahoma

And now to steal another car – Think this is their 6th

HEY GENE WILDER!!!

These cars don’t look like they’re going fast

So…. They just adopted Eugene and Velma to their gang?

Why does everyone seem surprised to hear Velma is 33?

Sorry we don’t want undertakers in our gang – We don’t even want The Undertaker!

The next day and Bonnie has ran away into a corn field

What happened to the footage? It looks grainy

It looks like someone poured sand down the lens and left it there

Now for a picnic with all our family members in a quarry

Is he eating a Klondike bar? – First Klondike bar I’ve found in all these films I’ve watched

Wait… We’re in Iowa now?

“I don’t have no mama” – Didn’t we just see her a few minutes ago at the picnic?

And police have found them… again

And we have another shoot out

Wait… They have grenades?!!?!

Is a mattress really good at protecting you from bullets?

And Clyde’s brother has been shot in the head

Why are they making Moss drive separately?

Look I know I’m bleeding heavily from the head… but some bastard stole my shoes!!!

How did the police find them in the woods?

They’ve clearly just sped up the footage there

And Buck has died and Blanche has been arrested

And that’s another car they’ve stolen

Is it me or Moss looks like Sam from Lord of the Rings?

Thanks for the water strangers

Moss drives Bonnie & Clyde to his dad’s

Glad I’m not the only one who think Moss’s tattoo looks stupid

It looks like it’s been clearly drawn on with pens

Hey look! That Texas Ranger they left on a boat managed to free himself

How did Blanche get blinded?

Blanche then tells him all about Moss

Did Bonnie just compare her and Clyde to Jesse James?

And now for sex in the corn field

So… Was Clyde a virgin?

Meanwhile, Moss and his dad chat about Moss turning himself in

And they’ve just left Moss behind in a hardware store

JESUS!!!!!!

Yep! They’re dead!

THE END

Leave a Reply

