Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge #MovieReview

Film 315 in the ‘1001 films to see before you die’ challenge is 1995’s ‘Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge’. Or as it’s know in English, “The Brave-Hearted Will Take the Bride”. Directed by Aditya Chopra, this Indian romantic drama is about Raj and Simran, two young non-resident Indians, who fall in love during a vacation through Europe with their friends. It didn’t take long before I started to quickly lose interest. I’ve mentioned this in previous reviews and I’ll say it again in this one, if you have characters that the audience can’t get behind then what’s the point in watching. The only characters in the film that aren’t assholes are Simran and her mother. I don’t count Simran’s little sister as she wasn’t in the film that much. There’s no way we can like Raj as this film portrays him as a playboy who thinks he can do what he wants because he thinks money can buy you way out of any problems, even when it involves stealing beer. As soon as I found out this film was over three hours long, I knew I wasn’t going to be in for a fun ride. Usually with long film you need to do something that will hook the audience in rather than have them constantly looking at their watches. This film probably could’ve been a little over two hours if they took out some stuff that was irrelevant to the plot. Overall, I didn’t like this film but if you like films with lots of dancing then go ahead and give this a go. I managed 27 minutes before I gave in. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1995’s ‘Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge’
42e7b444fd03bdce59bdfbc4e7ed87a3.jpg

Film – Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge
Year – 1995
Director – Aditya Chopra
Written by – Aditya Chopra, Javed Siddiqui
Staring – Shahrukh Khan, Kajol, Amrish Puri
IMDb Rating – 8.3/10
My Rating – Stopped caring
Length – 189 min (3h 9min)
Genre – Drama, Romance

3 hours?!? FFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUU……

“London. The Greatest City in the World’

We open with a man feeding pigeons in Trafalgar Square

This is the only time I’ve see the square this quiet….EVER!!

Two minutes in and we have our first song during the opening credits

And that man is still feeding pigeons

Back in London to continue the rest of the credits

There is no way this man walked to all these London landmarks without his feet hurting

Turns out the man owns a shop in a petrol station

Who the hell is calling me while I’m trying to pray?

Shout out to Sonic the Hedgehog on the box of Frosties

Who needs hairdryers when you have wind

Shout out to the Donald Duck dolls in the background

So… Is she talking about love at first sight?

Now for some rugby mixed in with a girl singing and dancing with a towel

There is no way he was out running that plane

Also, this makes it out that her lover is a playboy with his planes, swimming pools and go-kart tracks

Now he just got a strike before turning into Fonzie from Happy Days

What is actually happening

Also, who uses an umbrella to bring in the washing in the rain

She clearly likes flirting with his camera

How to arrive at your graduation in style – Drive a Lamborghini

So… This uni tells everyone that one person in the graduation class actually failed and will name and shame them in public – What dicks!

Turns out it was Raj who failed and tells it to his dad who clearly didn’t hear him correctly

Wait… They get to keep their graduation gowns? When I graduated, I had to rent mine? Guess my uni was shit (then again, I already knew that)

What the hell is going on?

And Dad just winded himself by running into a chair

Is it me or Dad looks like YouTuber Gamer SomecallmeJohnny – All that’s missing is the baseball cap

Why is this film swapping between English and Indian?

Someone’s happy about getting Ajit’s letter

Ajit’s letter just invited the family to a wedding

This mother just told us that all of our dreams will never happen

Shout out to Aberdeen Steakhouse

Shout out to Pringles Sour Cream & Onion

And back to the shop keeper who locks up just as Raj arrives wanting beer and aspirin

This shop keeper clearly has never heard of making a profit

Can’t tell me off for stealing if I left money behind

How dare you pray this late at night! I’m trying to sleep

AND I’VE LOST INTEREST IN THIS FILM

 

Leave a Reply

