Såsom i en spegel #MovieReview

Film 304 in the ‘1001 Films to See Before You Die’ challenge is 1961’s “Såsom i en spegel”. Or as it’s known in English, “Through a Glass Darkly”. Directed by Ingmar Bergman, this Swedish drama is a three-act “chamber film”, in which four family members act as mirrors for each other. A chamber film is a film involving a small number of characters interacting over a short period of time in a limited environment. In this films case, it’s four family members interacting on the the island of Fårö. Let’s just cut to the chase. No subtitles for a foreign film means I find it really hard to know what’s happening or who is who. I felt like I was watching a family that live in the middle of nowhere doing things families would do if they lived by the sea in the middle of nowhere. I saw people fishing, smoking pipes, drinking beer, eating beef stew. If I wanted to watch people do that, I could just head to the docks in my city centre. Overall, this film bored me to sleep. I lasted 20 minutes before I dozed off. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1961’s ‘Såsom i en spegel’
d4d885b7fa2d539a42f82e936e4d6e79.jpg

Film – Through a Glass Darkly (Såsom i en spegel)
Year – 1961
Director – Ingmar Bergman
Written by – Ingmar Bergman
Staring – Harriet Andersson, Gunnar Bjornstrand, Max von Sydow, Lars Passgard
IMDb Rating – 8.1/10
My Rating – ZZZZzzz
Length – 80 min (1h 20min)
Genre – Drama

Cue sad depressing music to open the film

Cut to a family having fun in the sea

Who needs towels when you have dressing gowns

The two men in gowns chat while sorting out some fishing gear

Cut to two people walking

If she’s the mother then why is she being a little bit grabby with her son… Or is he her boyfriend?

Back to the men in gowns fishing… in gowns

I can’t see anything

Think he hates living by the sea

9 minutes in and I have no clue what’s happening – Doesn’t help that I have no subtitles

Don’t you hate it when you cut yourself while opening bottle of beer

Food’s ready! – It’s beef stew… I think

You look a little too young to be drinking

The old man gives presents to the others – A watch, a box of chocolates and… Something else

Wait… Why is he crying? And why does his crying sound like a seagull?

Time for us to perform an a play in front of the old man

Does he have a mop for a wig?

Even the old man agrees with me and finds this play boring

Also… That is the worst painted on moustache I’ve ever seen

Me and The Old Man are both on the verge of falling asleep

So… Was the play about a princess kicking a worker out of her castle?

Not even Wikipedia can help me with the plot

Cut to The Old Man slowly lighting a pipe

Wait… They’re the couple?!?! They’ve done nothing to show it

ZZZZzzz

 

Leave a Reply

