Top Hat #MovieReview

Film 303 in the ‘1001 Films to see before you die’ challenge is 1935’s “Top Hat”. Directed by Mark Sandrich and based on two plays, “Scandal in Budapest” by Sandor Farago and “A Girl Who Dares” by Aladar Laszlo, this romantic comedy musical is about a dancer, Jerry Travers (Fred Astaire), who comes to London to star in a show. You wouldn’t think it but this film actually made me mad while watching it. Musical? Two songs within 30 minutes is not a musical! Hell, even ‘Grease’ had more songs within 30 minutes. Also, I’m watching the exact same story that I say in ‘Swing Time’… WITH THE SAME ACTORS!!! And another thing, this film was constantly making me ask questions that weren’t being answered? Why does Jerry love this random woman he kept awake one night? Why is the producer of a show more concerned about keeping Jerry in his hotel room than his show? Who is who? Why? Why? Why? Why? Why? Why? Why? Also… Where was the comedy? The only joke I heard was a really bad one that Jerry told about having ‘horse power’ when riding a horse. Overall, this film annoyed me to the point of anger. If I were to have this on DVD, I would’ve snapped the disc but because I found it on Dailymotion, all I have to do is close it. I lasted 36 minutes before I eventually gave in. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1935’s “Top Hat”
large_ltPxlajqLOokKahBG8LXBnCESXk

Film – Top Hat
Year – 1935
Director – Mark Sandrich
Written by – Allan Scott, Dwight Taylor, Ben Holmes, Ralph Spence, Karoly Noti
Based On – “Scandal in Budapest” by Sandor Farago (play) and “A Girl Who Dares” by Aladar Laszlo (play)
Staring – Fred Astaire, Ginger Rogers, Edward Everett Horton
IMDb Rating – 7.8/10
My Rating – SOD IT!!!
Length – 98 min  (1h 38min)
Genre – Comedy, Musical, Romance

The opening credits literally shows us a top hat… Because it’s the name of the film… Why else would they show us a top hat?

Is it a requirement for all men to wear top hats?

Oh… by the way… Welcome to London’s Thackeray Hotel

How dare you interrupt our newspaper reading with your clanging of wine glasses and coughing

Wait… Is it a requirement for everyone to whisper in this hotel? If so, then why?

HOW DARE YOU INTERRUPT OUR NEWSPAPER READING WITH YOUR TAP DANCING!!!!

It’s pretty clear that this butler hates his servant… over his taste in ties

So… If you send the Salvation Army a pair of shoes they give you a butler in return?!?

Jerry, you’ve been in London for 10 minutes and you haven’t gotten married? WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU?!?!

What is Jerry singing about? Is it ties?

Also… This is a hotel room? It’s very spacious

Wait… If this is a hotel then why is she sleeping on the sofa rather than the bed? That or the headrest is in the wrong place

His tap dancing can’t be that loud… That or the floorboards are very thin and flimsy

I thought he said dancing is an infection

Erm… Why is Jerry stealing a bin full of sand?

So… Pouring sand on the floor stops all creaky floorboards???

So…. Dancing on sand makes everyone fall asleep????

Who are these two?

So… People who visit horse stables have to travel by horse and buggy???

Erm… Where did Jerry get that outfit from?

Did Jerry just say that he’s letting the horse travel where it wants?

Cut a horse riding montage… in a thunderstorm

22 minutes in and for a musical we’ve only had one song – I was expecting more

Thanks for explaining how thunderstorms are made by comparing clouds to relationships

Time for a song about thunderstorms inside a gazebo

Look… I know I don’t like but… But I like you enough that we can dance with you

I’m bored now

Didn’t see this same exact storyline in ‘Swing Time’?

So… He’s sending his girlfriend to Italy to get fitted for clothes – You can’t get that on Bond Street?

You don’t need to say the full stops in sentences

You what… My lover is staying in the room above me?

This film just sent that all men are the same – NO THEY FUCKING NOT!!!!!!! [insert epic rant]

There is nothing to say these two are in a relationship

Just point all blame on the innocent butler… You prick!

AH SOD IT!!! I GIVE IN!!!

Leave a Reply

