Los Olvidados (295/1001)

Film 295 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1950’s “Los Olvidados”. Or as it’s known in English, “The Young and the Damned”. Directed by Luis Buñuel, this Mexican crime drama is about El Jaibo (Roberto Cobo) who resumes his role as the ringleader of a group troubled street kids in Mexico City’s slums after being released from prison. As you may or may not know by now, if I have to watch a foreign film and it doesn’t have any subtitles then I am already going to dislike the film. This film is no exception. I had no clue what was happening. Why are these kids following this ringleader? Who is this random kid wearing a poncho we keep seeing? And why is he always crying? Is it me or does this film try and say that robbery is the only way to survive when you’re poor? Because that’s the message that I got from this film. I managed 15 minutes before I stopped caring because I had no idea what was happening. Subtitles are helpful! In his 1953 essay entitled ‘Poetry and Cinema’, director Luis Buñuel had to this to say about the film, “Neorealist reality is incomplete, conventional and above all rational”. Fun Fact – Because of the film’s stormy reaction during it’s initial run in Mexico City, the film was withdrawn from cinemas after just three days. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1950’s “Los Olvidados”
936full-los-olvidados-poster.jpg

Film – Young and the Damned (Los Olvidados)
Year – 1950
Director – Luis Buñuel
Written by – Luis Alcoriza, Luis Buñuel
Staring – Alfonso Mejia, Roberto Cobo, Estela Inda
IMDb Rating – 8.3/10
My Rating – Stopped Caring
Length – 77 min (1h 17min)
Genre – Crime, Drama

Reading…. in Spanish

Oh joy! No subtitles!

Welcome to Paris… and London… and Mexico City

Nothing like pretending to be matadors while getting underage kids drunk

Random man shouting in the street while knitting

I have no idea what’s happening

Cut to a blind man playing the flute and drums at the same time while a child cries

Was is trendy to wear overalls back in the day?

The gang of kids try to steal from the blind man but fail

That’s just a scratch on your knee – I’ve seen worse

I wish I knew what was happening but I have no subtitles to tell me the dialogue

Right then… Let’s try robbing the blind man again in the middle of a construction site after we’ve thrown rocks at him

Fuck your instruments!

Only I can unpack the shopping

I don’t want any food… Ok I’ll have this cupcake

I can’t see a thing now it’s that dark

Still haven’t a clue what’s happening

AND I’VE STOPPED CARING

Leave a Reply

