Dr Mabuse, The Gambler #MovieReview

Film 293 in the ‘1001 Films to See Before You Die’ challenge is 1922’s Dr. Mabuse, Der Spieler. Or as it’s known in English, Dr Mabuse, The Gambler. Directed by Fritz Lang and based on Norbert Jacques’ novel of the same name, this silent mystery crime thriller follows the devious schemes of criminal mastermind Dr. Mabuse (Rudolf Klein-Rogge). Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been dealing with flu these last few days but I fell asleep while watching this. I had no idea what was happening throughout. That and I had no idea who anyone was. Being a silent film I was expecting the text on screen to tell me something related to the plot but the text was so small I had a very hard time trying to read it. The music really likes to repeat itself. It was as if someone recorded roughly 10/15 seconds of music and then put it on loop and said, ‘that’ll do’. I lasted 22 minutes before I started to nod off. Again, maybe it’s the fact that I’m recovering from flu that’s affected my viewing of this film. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1922’s ‘Dr Mabuse, The Gambler’.
dr-mabuse-the-gambler-movie-poster-1922-1020542837.jpg

Film – Dr Mabuse: The Gambler (Dr. Mabuse, Der Spieler)
Year – 1922
Director – Fritz Lang
Written by – Fritz Lang, Norbert Jacques, Thea von Harbou
Based On – “Doctor Mabuse” by Norbert Jacques
Staring – Rudolf Klein-Rogge, Aud Egede-Nissen, Gertrude Welcker
IMDb Rating – 7.9/10
My Rating – ZZzzzz (I blame flu)
Length – 242 min (4h 2min)
Genre – Crime, Mystery, Thriller

We open with someone playing cards with people’s faces on them

“You have taken cocaine again” – First line of the film

Cut to a random man smoking on a train

And someone just choked and killed the smoking man

Who cuts their hair with paper?

Reading – The text is so small it’s hard to read it

I have no idea what’s happening and we’re only 6 and a half minutes in

I know this was made 94 years but the picture quality is terrible

Wait… Those cars barely touched each other yet it caused both of them to start smoking

Do we really need to be replaying the same piece of music over and over

Huh? 200 mph is like cannibalism?!? But they’re not moving! They’re in a house

Cut to a drunk man heading home to his angry wife

Why have suspenders if you’re not gonna wear them

My work schedule for this week is more interesting than this film

Was it a requirement back in the day for all men to have some form of facial hair and wear top hats

Also… I just realised that we’re at a bookies… Or is it The World Trade Center

Don’t you hate it when the odds keep changing constantly – It was 8/1, then 5/1 now 10/1

Someone’s found the secret agreement between the Swedes and Danish!

What clock face goes up to 24?

This scene has gone on for too long

And with one jump cut everyone is gone

Time for a show

Again I can’t read the text on screen

I feel like I keep seeing this woman in every silent film I’ve watched so far

Still have no idea what’s happening

And again the music is repeating itself

ZZzzzz

Leave a Reply

