Intolerance: Love’s Struggle Throughout the Ages #MovieReview

Film 281 in the ‘1001 Films to See Before You Die’ challenge is 1916’s “Intolerance: Love’s Struggle Throughout the Ages”. This D.W. Griffith historical silent drama is about the story of a poor young woman, separated by prejudice from her husband and baby, is interwoven with tales of intolerance from throughout history. OW MY HEAD!!!! What the hell is going on? One minute the film is in what appears to be a book meeting about banning dancing in all ballrooms then the next minute the film is in Israel. And what’s the deal with the woman staring at her baby in a cradle? She doesn’t do anything so what was the point in constantly showing it. I’d thought the text on-screen would help explain what is happening. Boy, was I wrong as it just told me, well tried to, who people were while quoting Ecclesiastes III. I knew going in that I wasn’t going to watch all of this. It was just a question of how long I could go. And it turns out, I only lasted 22 minutes. 22 minutes!!! I dread to think how my head must be feeling if I had watched all 3 hours or so of this film. Overall, this film gave me a massive headache and has interwoven scenes that don’t make any sense. Fun Fact of the Film – Future director Tod Browning co-wrote and acted in the film, and was Griffith’s assistant director. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1916’s ‘Intolerance: Love’s Struggle Throughout the Ages’
Intolerance_(film)

Film – Intolerance: Love’s Struggle Throughout the Ages
Year – 1916
Director – D.W. Griffith
Written by – D.W. Griffith, Hettie Grey Baker, Tod Browning, Anita Loos, Mary H. O’Connor, Frank E. Woods
Staring – Lillian Gish, Douglas Fairbanks, Spottswoode Aitken
IMDb Rating – 8/10
My Rating – OW MY HEAD
Length – 166 min (2h 46min)
Genre – Drama, History

I have the feeling that I’m already going hate this film

Thanks film for explaining how the film will be shown

We open with a mother watching her baby rock in a cradle

Reading… from both a book and text on screen

Now we’re at a ballroom dance

Who care’s about dancing when we need to have a book club meeting in the library

Miss Jenkins is mad that she’s old and doesn’t fit in with the kids

$2.75 a day wages! That’s $252.58 in today’s money (thanks Google)

A woman then tries to make two duckling kiss

Back at the book club meeting

WHAT!!!! YOU’RE BANNING DANCING IN THE BALLROOM!!!!

More reading

Back to the woman with the cradle

Now I’m in Israel – WHAT IS HAPPENING

8 minutes in and my head already about to explode

All the men get angry that another man called himself ‘The Best’

Now we’re in Paris 1572

Hello Charles IX, you miserable bastard

That man has a fanny pack so he can carry Charles’ kittens

The king has insured peace to everyone in France

Someone called ‘Brown Eyes’ flirts with a soldier

Back at the book club meeting

Ecclesiastes III quote – Why?

Meanwhile, a woman is really enjoying her milkshake

Oh look! I found a penny on the floor!

You sleep at 10am?!

Back to reading – These reading sections make no sense and are hard to follow

Back to the woman with the cradle who does nothing

Back to Israel where elephants march into the market

Meanwhile, a homeless woman stares into the camera… and the audience’s souls

Ishtar? Wasn’t that the film with Dustin Hoffman?

A man tries flirting with the homeless woman after she threw stones at him

I’M STOPPING HERE BEFORE I LOSE IT

Leave a Reply

