A Separation #MovieReview

Film 274 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 2011’s “A Separation”. Or as it’s known in Persian “Jodaí-e Nadér az Simín”. This Asghar Farhadi Iranian drama looks at an middle-class couple who separate, and the conflicts that arise when the husband hires a lower-class care giver for his elderly father, who suffers from Alzheimer’s. Don’t you just love watching foreign films that have no subtitles? I do. Especially when you have no clue about what’s going on. All I gathered was that the couple in the film have divorced each other, I think, and the wife’s reasons for leaving the husband is because his dad is dying, I think. This didn’t feel like a drama. I felt like I was watching reality TV. The only difference between the two is that this one is edited better. I’m sat here trying to think of anything I can remember about this film in the 18 minutes I watched and nothing sticks out. The only thing I will remember about the film is that the wife reminds me of a friend of mine from university. Overall, this film just bored me to sleep. In 2011, Peter Travers from Rolling Stone magazine had this to say about the film, “With rare subtlety and transforming art… Asghar Farhadi takes us into the emotional heart of modern Iran”. Fun Fact of the Film – This film was the first to win three Bears Awards at the Berlin International Film Festival. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say in while watching 2011’s “A Separation”

separation

Film – Nader and Simin: A Separation (Jodaí-e Nadér az Simín)
Year – 2011
Director – Asghar Farhadi
Written by – Asghar Farhadi
Staring – Peyman Moaadi, Leila Hatami, Sareh Bayat
IMDb Rating – 8.4/10
My Rating – ZZZzzz
Length – 116 min (1h 56min)
Genre – Drama

So… This is what it’s like to be a scanner
These are the most boring opening credits I’ve ever sat through
Why does the woman remind me of a old friend of mine from university?
HOORAY!!!!! A FILM WITH NO SUBTITLES!!!! – And this is where I start getting lost and confused
Stop arguing and move on already
What is going on?
To me! To you!
So…. Because the husband is looking after his dad, she’s divorcing him – AND SHE’S SUPPOSE TO BE THE HERO!!
Don’t you hate it when you pack too much stuff that you’re suitcase doesn’t zip up
Wait… You had all that money hidden and didn’t bother spending it on the family? You are a bitch
Now for a lesson in how to use? the washing machine
Wait… I though she was leaving
And now she leaves… In her Peugeot
Shout out to the Barbie backpack
Who leaves the keeps to the apartment above the fire alarm?
15 minutes in and I’m bored and have no clue as to what’s happening
All I know is that an old man is dying and the main couple of the film just separated
Who is this woman and why should I care?
Well… Time to bath the old man
AND TIME FOR ME TO LEAVE

Leave a Reply

