1995’s “Clueless” #MovieReview

Film 266 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1995’s “Clueless”. Loosely based on Jane Austen’s novel “Emma”, this Amy Heckerling rom-com is about a rich high school student who tries to boost a new pupil’s popularity, but reckons without affairs of the heart getting in the way. Now then… Where do I start? First of all, this film moves at such a fast pace I could not keep up. One minute you’re watching Cher talk about how Americans should party with Haitians then the next minute she’s trying to boink her grades by getting her teacher laid. Next, the fashion in this film is so awful it made my eyes bleed. Third, I can’t take the teacher, Mr Hall, seriously knowing that he is Rex in Toy Story. Also, the amount of things that stood out within the first 5 minutes really made it clear that this film was made in the 90’s. There’s the fashion that I already mentioned, the music (No Doubt, a “Kids in America” cover and a reference to Nine Inch Nails) and Cher watching Beavis & Butthead. I feel like my experience watching this might have been ruined slightly as I had already seen something similar to this in 2004’s “Mean Girls”. Overall, this film made my head explode. I managed 17 minutes before my head exploded like in “Scanners”. Fun Fact of the Film – The scene where Cher realizes her true feelings for Josh as fountains erupt is an homage to the 1958 film “Gigi”. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1995’s “Clueless”

Film – Clueless
Year – 1995
Director – Amy Heckerling
Written by – Amy Heckerling
Based On – “Emma” by Jane Austen
Staring – Alicia Silverstone, Stacey Dash, Brittany Murphy
IMDb Rating – 6.8/10
My Rating – My Head Exploded
Length – 91 min (1h 31min)
Genre – Comedy, Romance

Are we really starting with “Kids in America”? – OK then
From that to David Bowie
Also, who has a computer that picks your school clothes
Now No Doubt! – This is the 90’s
When did this turn into “Pimp My Ride”
What the hell is she wearing
Pagers? – Definatly in the 90’s now
How low are those pants?
Isn’t that the doctor from Scrubs?
Where do I know the teacher from? His voice sounds familiar
Found it – He’s Rex in Toy Story
I have no idea what is going on
Nine Inch Nails reference – They were a thing in the 90’s
A “C” is a passing grade
Why do I feel like I’m watching the 90’s version of “Mean Girls”?
Beavis & Butthead – More 90’s references
Why wear a see-through shirt?
You can’t negotiate over grades
Wait? What? So… If you tell a teacher that you just got dumped by your boy/girlfriend then you get a higher grade?!?
10 minutes in and I have no idea what’s happening
WHAT IS GOING ON?
Wait? You’re trying to get your teacher laid so your grades can go higher?
SNICKERS!!!
Run away! We can’t be seen hanging with Sk8r Boi’s – Think that’s how Avril Lavigne spelt it
What are tardies?
Shout out to the Egg McMuffins in McDonalds
Wait? She’s been driving without a license
Shout out to Mark Wahlberg
AND I’M DONE

Leave a Reply

