Deseret #MovieReview

Film 264 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1995’s “Deseret”. This James Benning documentary narrated by Fred Gardner is about…. something. To be honest, I could not find any information about this film. All I could find was that the director filmed random places in Utah, stuck all the scenes together with articles from The New York Times between 1852 to 1991. I can’t call this a film. It’s as if someone was making a Powerpoint presentation and recorded themselves reading notes scribbled down in a notepad. All the director did was filmed bits of nature claiming to be in Utah but to me looks like the set of Red Dead Redemption, read articles from The New York Times and call it “a film”. This is something a college student would submit as coursework and get a passing grade. How this made it to Sundance 1996 really confuses me. I can’t really say much else but if you want to read someone else’s opinion on the film, here is a review made by Andrew D -> http://1001movieman.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/887-deseret-1995.html. Don’t waste your time watching this. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1995’s “Deseret”. By the way, there isn’t a poster for this so enjoy a shot from the “film”

deseret

Film – Deseret
Year – 1995
Director – James Benning
Written by – James Benning
Staring – Fred Gardner
IMDb Rating – 6.1/10
My Rating – Don’t Waste Your Time
Length – 82 min (1h 22min)
Genre – Documentary

Well… There’s Utah
Or a location from Red Dead Redemption
March 19 1852 and we see a wooden hut as a man talks
All I heard was “beever diving in Salt Lake City”
I’m bored already and we’re only 3 minutes in
So… Are we at war with Indians?
And why do I have “Indians” by Anthrax stuck in my head?
ZZZzzzz


Leave a Reply

