Tirez sur le pianiste #MovieReview

Film 260 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1960’s “Tirez sur le pianiste”. Or as it’s known in English, “Shoot the Piano Player”. Based on David Goodis’ novel “Down There”, this François Truffaut French crime drama is about a piano player who has to help his brothers and a waitress escape from gangsters in Paris. Before I start, I want to note two things; 1 – I am very tired having worked two shifts in one day at work. 2 – I didn’t finish the film because the film crashed after 15 minutes. I tried watching it again after refreshing the website I was using but it crashed again. But from what I saw… I am now even more tired. Plus, I have the great old problem of finding a foreign film without subtitles except in Spanish, so I had no clue what was happening. Can’t really say a whole lot more than that but I gave it a go before the film died on me. In 1984, director François Truffaut had this to say, “400 Blows… was so French. I felt that I needed to show that I had also been influenced by the American cinema”. Fun Fact of the Film – When Truffaut met the author of “Down There” in New York, he was given a vintage viewfinder camera as a gift. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1960’s “Tirez sur le pianiste”

Tirez-Sur-Le-Pianiste_2

Film – Shoot the Piano Player (Tirez sur le pianiste) (to pay)
Year – 1960
Director – François Truffaut
Written by – François Truffaut, Marcel Moussy
Based On – “Down There” by David Goodis
Staring – Charles Aznavour, Marie Dubois, Nicole Berger
IMDb Rating – 7.7/10
My Rating – NEVER FINISHED IT
Length – 80 min (1h 20min)
Genre – Crime, Drama, Thriller

Before we start, I want to note that I’m extremly tired and could possibly switch the film off because of it
We open with a man fainting on the streets
Oh joy, subtitles that are only in Spanish for a French film
Are those flowers he’s carrying?
French jazz?
So… Which one is Charlie?
Did he just piss in a locker for a toilet
See this talentless bastard playing the piano? I can do that! Watch
Does he have a giant bruise on the side of his left eye?
Eyes up here! Not down there
That’s a dance? Daring someone to get out of a chair only to shove him back in it
12 minutes in and I have no idea what’s happening
Plus… This is boring
This singer is clearly reading the lyrics held by someone off camera
Still don’t know what’s happening
I’m too tired to even switch this off
Even better… The film just crashed
So… THE END

Leave a Reply

