Rushmore #MovieReview

Film 258 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1998’s “Rushmore”. This Wes Anderson comedy drama is about an eccentric teenager, Max Fischer (Jason Schwartzman in his film debut), his friendship with rich industrialist Herman Blume (Bill Murray), and their mutual love for elementary school teacher Rosemary Cross (Olivia Williams). Long story short, I hated this film. Max comes across as such an asshole. How am I meant to like him if he comes across as the type of person who thinks everything needs his opinion. Also, he is not 15. He looks 18. I just go progressively angrier the longer the movie went. Even the teacher was calling bullshit on Max’s attempts to start a relationship. The only bit I enjoyed was when someone punched Max in the face during an intermission of the “Serpico” play only because I wanted to do that. Also, who thinks “Serpico” is something for kids in school to watch? Overall, I hated this film with a passion to the point where I wanted to snap the DVD in half. I managed 27 minutes before I said “FUCK IT” out loud. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of the film in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1998’s “Rushmore”

rushmore_ver1

Film – Rushmore
Year – 1998
Director – Wes Anderson
Written by – Wes Anderson, Owen Wilson
Staring – Jason Schwartzman, Bill Murray, Olivia Williams
IMDb Rating – 7.8/10
My Rating – FUCK THIS FILM
Length – 88 min (1h 28min)
Genre – Comedy, Drama

Welcome to Rushmore
Anyone can solve my problem then no one has to do math
What school allows students to read newspapers and drink tea in class
Always rely on the nerd to get it right
So… To stay rich, you have to kill other rich people
That was awkward
How can one person do all this and not be tired
Too many activities and not enough studying…. YOU FAIL
Wait…. They’re finally cancelling Latin class?! For Japanese class?
What teacher leaves notes to students in library books?
I am slightly confused about what is happening
You can’t change the result of a test
I’m confused… Is Max trying to bang Miss Cross for better grades
BOLLOCKS!!!! You’re not 15
Again I have no idea what’s happening
Wait… You want Latin class back
Meanwhile, in amateur wrestling class
You kids do what you want, I’m just gonna throw golf balls into the swimming pool in my Budweiser shorts
Pretty sure that pool water shouldn’t be green
So… Latin’s back
How many fish tanks?
Seriously…. Rushmore needs an aquarium? For $35,000?!?
What am I watching?
Even Miss Cross has called B.S. to her relationship with Max?
Why are they recreating “Serpico” in school?
Don’t think Serpico is a film for kids to watch
Think Max deserved that punch
How dare you wear O.R. Scrubs to a dinner?
Clearly you aren’t 15 if you’re drinking

One thought on “Rushmore #MovieReview

Leave a Reply

