Xiao Cheng Zhi Chun #MovieReview

Film 254 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1948’s “Xiao Cheng Zhi Chun”. Or as it’s known in English,”Spring in a Small Town”. This Fei Mu Chinese romantic drama sees Dai Liyan who lives in his ruined family compound with his wife, Yumen. Liyan’s childhood friend, Dr. Zhang Zhichen, visits and she is torn between loyalty to her family and her love for Zhang. Man, I have a banging headache from watching this film. Not from trying to make sense of the plot but more because the audio was far too crackly and would range from high to low all the time. There is an awful lot of nothing happening in this film. Why should we care about this relationship between Yumen and Zhang? We can clearly see that Liyan is a prick around her so why not runaway with the guy you haven’t seen in ten years. That makes sense, right? Anyway, this film really drags and is not fun to watch. I managed 25 minutes before giving in. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1948’s “Xiao Cheng Zhi Chun”

springinasmalltownposter_zpsf19e6eb4

Film – Spring in a Small Town (Xiao cheng zhi chun)
Year – 1948
Director – Mu Fei
Written By – Li Tianji
Staring – Wei Wei, Zhang Hongmei, Li Wei
IMDb Rating – 7.6/10
My Rating – ZZzzzz
Length – 93 min (1h 33min)
Genre – Drama, Romance

Thanks YouTube for the subtitles
That’s a pretty small wall if you can walk on it
Here I am modelling the new vegetable basket in a field
Why is he walking like he’s crapped himself?
“I have no courage to die” – What?
It’s spring! Who wears scarfs in spring?
Hello plant, hello balcony…. Oh… Hey Liyan
Is it “Bring a plant to school” day?
There is a terrible buzzing noise coming from his film
Also, what’s with the dipping audio levels from time to time?
I hate life after the war. All I care about is my garden… and this hole in the wall
Why do we need medicine in this film when it seems vegetables are the cure for everything?
Fuck your medicine!
Pretty sure medicine can’t cure a six year illness caused by a war
Also, I’m lost and have no idea what’s happening – Nothing new there
That and I have no clue who is who except for Sis
What’s wrong with knitting in your own room?
Here come Dr Zhang
Worst… Doorbell… Ever!
This narrator making Zhang come across as a stalker
You can travel by wind in China?
Wait.. You seriously waited for your friend to return? – A friend you haven’t seen in 10 years
Also… What refugee has a servant working for them?
You! Cook chicken! NOW!!!
My high school sweetheart has found me! Better ignore him
Why does the narrator have to tell us everything – And I mean EVERYTHING
Don’t…. tell Zhang… That I’m married… to Liyan
Her singing and this audio – Bad combination
PAY ATTENTION TO ME!!!!
HEY!! EYES OFF MY WIFE!
I’m adding dialogue again
You don’t want tea? WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU?
Look, servant. I know you’re being helpful but please… FUCK OFF!!!!
I can not see a thing
Look. It’s been ten years, you could have the courtesy of saying “hello”
You smoke? Only sick people smoke
ZZzzzz

Leave a Reply

