Artists and Models #MovieReview

Film 239 in the “1001 Films to see before you die” challenge is 1955’s “Artists and Models”. This Frank Tashlin comedy musical is about a painter named Rick Todd (Dean Martin) is having difficulty with his career, so he starts taking inspiration from the dreams of his friend and roommate, Eugene (Jerry Lewis), a comic book fan who narrates an adventure story while he sleeps. Allow me to sum up this film in three words… OW MY HEAD!!!! I’m not kidding! I have a massive headache and it’s mostly thanks to Jerry Lewis who, for the second time in this challenge, has made me really want to tape his mouth shut. He comes across as a 1950’s version of Jim Carrey. The only difference between the two is that Jim Carrey doesn’t make me want to hate him. Jerry Lewis make me want to hate him as soon as his face appears on screen. Dean Martin was the only redeeming thing about this film and he doesn’t really do a whole lot. Even the female actresses gave me headaches. Overall, this film is a massive headache waiting to happen. I managed 32 minutes before my head exploded ala “Scanners”. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1955’s “Artists and Models”. Now if you’ll excuse me… I need drugs!

Poster - Artists and Models (1955)_01

Film – Artists and Models
Year – 1955
Director – Frank Tashlin
Written by – Frank Tashlin, Herbert Baker, Hal Kanter
Staring – Dean Martin, Jerry Lewis, Shirley MacLaine
IMDb Rating – 6.7/10
My Rating – OW MY HEAD!!!!
Length – 109 min (1h 49min)
Genre – Comedy, Musical

SO MANY WOMEN!!!
We open with Rick painting a billboard
I can’t work! I have to finish page 33 of “The Bat Lady”
Talk about getting blown
Also… A billboard that shoots smoke… and comic book pages
Rick and Eugene have been fired for accidently dropping paint on the boss
I came to New York to sell paintings while you came to write children books
Turns out Rick is leaving Eugene…. Or not
Those are so terrible looking beds
All that set up for one bean
Is it me or Jerry Lewis reminds me of Jim Carrey?
Who needs real things when you have an imagination
Why do you get the invisible keyboard and I get is a wooden table?
Rick really hates sound effects
He could have shut his door before undressing
That is an awful looking steak
WILL YOU SHUT UP!!!! I’M TRYING TO SLEEP!!!
Why the hell didn’t I get an apartment with two bedrooms
You can sleep talk outside on the fire escape
Our new neighbour is also an artist? This gives me an idea
Wait! My new neighbour is “The Bat Lady”!
Jerry Lewis is the only actor to give me a headache
Safe cute?
A comic book with no blood and violence? This won’t sell!
I didn’t think liver was attractive
Must… Not… Reveal… That I’m… The Bat Lady
I didn’t think a kiss would steam up a water cooler
Don’t touch my painting
Eugene then offers his writing services to Mr Murdoch
OW MY HEAD!!!!

Leave a Reply

