Drive #MovieReview

Film 235 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 2011’s “Drive”. Based on James Sallis novel of the same name, this Nicolas Winding Refn crime drama is about an unnamed Hollywood stunt performer (Ryan Gosling) who moonlights as a getaway driver. Well… This was real fun to watch. I was not expecting some of the things I saw in this movie to happen. Quite frankly, if you were to remove the plot of this film and just have Ryan Gosling drive around helping criminals then that would have made a good film as well. Did the film need the storylines around Standard and the love story with Irene? Probably not but the film had them to add to what was already a good film. Even the soundtrack, which isn’t my cup of tea, is fun and enjoyable to listen to. Especially “Nightcrawl” by Kavinsky during the opening credits. Overall, this was a really fun film to watch and one I would definitely recommend you watching. In 2011, Peter Travers from Rolling Stone magazine had this to say about the film, “A brilliant piece of nasty business that races on a B-movie track until it switches to the dizzying fuel of undiluted creativity”. Fun Fact of the Film – In preparation for his role, Ryan Gosling restored the 1973 Chevrolet Malibu that his character drives. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 2011’s “Drive”

Drive-2011

Film – Drive
Year – 2011
Director – Nicolas Winding Refn
Written by – Hossein Amini
Based On – “Drive” by James Sallis
Staring – Ryan Gosling, Carey Mulligan, Bryan Cranston
IMDb Rating – 7.8/10
My Rating – 7.6/10
Length – 96 min (1h 36min)
Genre – Crime, Drama

That text reminds me of GTA: Vice City
No!!! LA are losing to Toronto at basketball!!!
Are Impalas really popular in California?
And the five minutes starts now
There’s always one that holds everyone up
Who knew driving was this tense?
Who cares about the robbery then there’s a gang shooting around the block?
Never rev your engine when near a cop car
Also… WOOP WOOP THAT’S THE SOUND OF THE POLICE
And now we hide in the basketball crowd
SONG – “Nightcall” by Kavinsky
And now I’m a policeman
Holy fuck – BRYAN CRANSTON!!!
And that’s my day job over and done with for another day
Nice to know me and my neighbour shop at the same store
Toothpick? Who does he think he is? Razor Ramon?
We don’t talk about Benicio’s father
What Italian restraunt serves Chinese food?
Shannon meets with Mr Rose and talks drivers
Well… Mr Rose doesn’t look shady at all
Damn… Why is this woman keep following me everywhere I go?
Is there a reason why Ryan Gosling’s character has no name?
Can’t drive if I don’t put my wheels back on the car
Fancy a drive on the LA River to “A Real Hero” by College?
Can I have my coat back? I stole it from Sting! Or was it Noam Dar?
For a car made in 1973 it has a modern radio
“He wouldn’t be about to find a pussy in a whorehouse”
Even Mr Rose hates films that make no sense
No sharks are ever good guys in films according to Benicio
So… We don’t talk about my husband, OK?
SONG – “Under Your Spell” by Desire
Benicio’s dad has come home and says he wants a second chance in life
Wait… Did Irene say she wants him to call the cops?
That looks like the worst jacket potato I’ve ever seen
Well.. That was a friendly goodbye
So… We don’t talk about Benicio’s dad getting his ass kicked
Wait… You have to pay protection while in prison?!
Where did he get a bullet from?
I’m not gonna lose it… I’m gonna use it!
All good relationships start while drunk at a party
Wait… Your name is Standard?! What an odd name
Time to steal me a Mustang and explain my role to Standard and his crew
So… You can be paid by a ‘fuck off’?!
Time to rob that pawn shop in the middle of the day – Wouldn’t a smart thief wait until night?
That Chrysler looks suspisious
And she looks like Uma Thurman
And Standard is dead!
You can’t get me while I’m in reverse
That’s about $100,000 in that bag and they only get $40,000
Better break the news to Irene
Well.. That’ll make her talk
Wait… This was all a set-up?!

INTERMISSION

And I’m back at the 58 minute mark
JESUS!!!! She’s dead
So… I just killed two men with a shotgun… Hope no one heard it
Never fun seeing people pull glass out of their body
Better explain everything to Shannon and hope he knows who Cook is
Ignore the boobs and pay attention to me
That is one way to make someone talk
None of these strippers give a fuck about their boss getting beat up
Wait… Nino?
Better explain everything to Irene
That was a vicious slap
Is that a gun in your pocket or are you pleased to see me…. Oh wait.. That’s a gun
Better claim a good luck kiss before kicking someone’s ass
And this is why I always take the stairs
Wait… Is Shannon in with all this?
Wait… Who’s on who’s side?
I’ve only just realised that Nino is Hellboy
And Cook is dead thanks to Mr Rose
Mr Rose then finds Shannon at the garage
Oh yeah… Remember that NASCAR car that we bought?
YOU FUCKER!!!! YOU JUST KILLED SHANNON!
Who keeps a box of knifes in a gold box?
SONG – “Oh My Love” by Riz Ortolani
Time to settle this once and for all at Nino’s
Who holds a party in a takeaway?
Now to tail Nino while wearing my stunt make-up
Or I could just ram him off the road
Well… That was a car crash that Nino survived
Why does this give me flashbacks to Nightcrawler?
I will escape in the sea!
Now to settle things with Mr Rose at The Great Wall
Thanks for being my neighbour Irene
And both men have just stabbed each other with Mr Rose dying first
You ruined my fucking shoes!!!
So… That’s it
And you just leave the money in the middle of a parking lot with a dead Mr Rose
THE ENd

Leave a Reply

