The Kid Brother #MovieReview

Film 225 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1927’s “The Kid Brother”. This Ted Wilde and J.A. Howe family comedy drama is about a timid son who has to use his wits to win the respect of his strong father. And once again, I find myself watching a silent film that I fall asleep while watching it. And this is comedy? I did not find one thing funny throughout this film. All I saw was another case of “coward ends up being the hero and gets the girl”. When you’ve seen one plot like this, you’ve seen them all so I pretty much knew what was going to happen. That and all I saw while watching Harold Lloyd was “another Charlie Chaplin”. Overall, this was really dull to watch and made me fall asleep. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1927’s “The Kid Brother”. I really do try with all these…

tumblr_m8prmcMsA41qbhnrvo1_1280

Film – The Kid Brother
Year – 1927
Director – Ted Wilde, J.A. Howe, Harold Lloyd, Lewis Milestone
Written by – Harold Lloyd
Staring – Harold Lloyd, Jobyna Ralston, Walter James
IMDb Rating – 7.6/10
My Rating – ZZzzz
Length – 82 min (1h 22min)
Genre – Comedy, Drama, Family

We open with a medicine show on tour
Reading
PET MONKEY!!!
Mary feels like she can’t continue the show since dad died
Meanwhile Jim is shifting wood
Harold is… doing the laundry… with a kite
Wait… is Jim their dad?
Don’t wreck my Sunday shirt
It immediately gets eaten by a goat
And now the kite with the washing has blown away
You can sell door knobs for a dozen eggs in the 20’s?
Harold’s enemy looks like Vic Reeves
All this over a shirt that’s now torn and made more dirty after getting stuck in a tree
Jim is a very sweaty man
Back with the medicine show and they want to visit Jim
Everyone leaves for the town meeting except for Harold
Hmm… This sheriff badge looks good on me
Better act like a sheriff while Jim isn’t around and play with his gun in the mirror
He nearly shot him in the head!
And the medicine show arrives to laugh at Harold being a sheriff
PUT THE GUN AWAY!
Looks like Mary loves Harold
Harold scares a hobo with a stick with a snake on it
ZZZzz

Leave a Reply

