Ariel #MovieReview

Film 221 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1988’s “Ariel”. This Aki Kaurismaki Finnish drama is about a coal miner who must find a way to live in the big city after the mine closes and his father, also a miner, commits suicide. Add another one to the list of films that are hard to watch because they don’t explain what’s happening. All I know is that a group of miners lose their jobs, a dad shoots himself and the son carries on with life like nothing ever happened. So many questions; Why did the miners lose their jobs? Why did the dad shoot himself? Why complain that you’re making 256 Euros a day? Why did he steal a picture from a museum? Why? Why? Why? Why? Why? Also, you can get out of paying for a parking ticket by having sex with the ticket person. I really doesn’t help that the subtitles were in Finnish. Overall, I can’t recommend this unless you want to know what it’s like to be depressed. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1988’s “Ariel”

p206iycqkdp02p6d

Film – Ariel
Year – 1988
Director – Aki Kaurismaki
Written by – Aki Kaurismaki
Staring – Turo Pajala, Susanna Haavisto, Matti Pellonpaa
IMDb Rating – 7.6/10
My Rating – I QUIT
Length – 69 min (1h 9min)
Genre – Drama

We start with men blowing up a mine shaft
Or as I call it “Minecraft”
Won’t be needng these now we’re out of a job
At a coffee shop, Dad gives his son some keys
Dad shoots himself in the coffee shop toilets
Who hangs a rug on their walls?
And who keeps their clothes in a fridge?
And who drives a convertable with the roof down in the snow?
So.. You can claim anyone’s money from the bank?
Damn! Roof is broken! And so is the radio
Has this guy not heard of a hat? He had one yesterday
Looks like he’s gonna get robbed of his money
I was right!
Note to everyone – Don’t show everyone how much money you have
All the miners now have a new job… shifting sandbags
256 Euros for a day’s work?
How dare you steal my radio
I wish I knew what was happening
Also… I’m bored
Time to spend the night at a hostel
Don’t touch my photo of Jesus
Nothing like looking for a job in the newspaper
Is this the Finnish version of The Ramones playing?
16 minutes in and I still don’t know the name of our main character
Did he just steal a painting?
He stole a photo of someone and a pair of fancy dress angel wings
Now we’re following a maid who also works as a parking inspector
You can’t fine me! I was only parked for 5 minutes
Wait… So she just quit her job? Just so she can go on a date with this guy
Thanks for the sex. Let’s shake hands
Wait… Are these two a couple now?
Wait… She has a son?
A son who has a gun!
At least the son is nice enough to make him coffee
This is really confusing to watch
I QUIT

Leave a Reply

