The Dead #MovieReview

Film 215 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1987’s “The Dead. Based on James Joyce’s novel of the same name, this John Huston drama is about a couple attending a dinner. Sounds exciting! Spoiler alert – no one dies in this film and no one is dead. If they are dead they did a bad job explaining it to me. This film felt like a really long episode of Downton Abbey. I have no idea what was happening. All I knew was that the film takes place at a dinner party in 1904 Dublin. I had a very hard time trying to figure out what people were saying as the only language of the film was drunk. Drunk and thick Irish accents! Not a great combination. Even the subtitles have no idea what anyone was saying. Why are we at a dinner party? Who is throwing it? Who is anyone? If I did catch anything from this film, it’s that Gabriel is nervous about giving a speech. I didn’t know he was going to give a speech. All this film did was make me more tired than I already am and make my headache hurt even more. I can only recommend this if you like Downton Abbey. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1987’s “The Dead”.

Film – The Dead
Year – 1987
Director – John Huston
Written by – Tony Huston
Based on – “The Dead” by James Joyce
Staring – Anjelica Huston, Donal McCann, Dan O’Herlihy
IMDb Rating – 7.3/10
My Rating – ZZzzz
Length – 79 min (1h 19min)
Genre – Drama
dead-movie-poster-1988-1020206196
It’s Dublin 1904 and it’s snowing
I guess this is what house parties were like back in the day
Bloody hell, Gabriel’s late!
“Basing the goose” – That sounds like an innuendo
I have no idea what’s happening – I blame my headache
Special toilets from Bond Street?!?
Is he wearing shoes as well as wellies?
It’s Christmas? Where’s the tree and decorations?
This is a hotel?
So… He’s Gabriel
These actors/actresses Irish accents are making it hard for me to understand them
Who’s drunk? And why should I care?
Everyone do the slow dance
How dare you enter the bathroom while I’m taking a shit
Doctors medicine back in 1904 – GIN!!!
Is living in Glasgow better than living in Dublin?
I’m bored
I also have no idea what’s happening
I know we’re at a party
And I have no idea who anyone is
I have no idea what anyone is saying
PLAY MUSIC!!!! NOW!!!!
ZZzzz
Leave a Reply

