Oklahoma! #MovieReview

Film 198 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1955’s “Oklahoma”. This romantic western musical is about two cowboys in love with a woman. If I could describe this film in one word, it would be…. HATE!!!! Dear God I hated this. All the singing parts felt like they went on forever to the point where I had to fast forward through them, especially “Kansas City”. I ended up quitting after 25 minutes because I had enough. I had no idea what anyone was saying. Even the subtitles had no idea. The only time subtitles worked was when it got to a song. Some of the accents these actors/actresses had gave me a massive headache. They all sounded like they never hit puberty. I don’t know why but throughout the film, I had constant reminders of “Song of the South” where the child actors had screechy voices that hurt my head. All that was missing was the racism. Overall, I can not recommend this film. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1955’s “Oklahoma”

Film – Oklahoma!
Year – 1955
Director – Fred Zinnemann
Written by – Sonya Levien, William Ludvig
Based on – “Oklahoma!” by Lynn Riggs and Oscar Hammerstein II
Staring – Gordon MacRae, Gloria Grahame, Gene Nelson
IMDb Rating – 7.3/10
My Rating – FUCK THIS FILM!!!!
Length – 134 min (2h 14min)
Genre – Musical, Romance, Western
oklahoma
We open with a shot of some dead looking sunflowers
These opening credits are a bit long
Song 1 – “Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin'”
Never interupt me while I’m churning butter
How dare you critcise my singing! No box social for you
Song 2 – “The Surrey with the Fringe on Top”
The cameraman got bored of them singing and decided to film a horse and carriage travelling
I have no idea what they are saying – Not even the subtitles know
12 minutes in and I’m already bored
Jud arrives with wood – That’s it
Women? Run a range? Don’t make me laugh! That’s why we have Jud
What type of that is that?
Skidmark party? EW!!!
Now that everyone has left… I can roam this house in the nude
16 minutes to know the daughter’s name – It’s Laurey <- Their spelling
Will’s back! Who’s Will?
Look what I bought! It’s a telescope that has dirty pictures in the lens
Song 3 – “Kansas City”
Everyone do the two-step
This scene has overstayed it’s welcome
“Still don’t like it” – Amen to that
That went on for 10 minutes!!!!
How dare you interupt me while I’m bathing in the river
Foot? I guess “fuck” can’t be said in a U/E film
FUCK THIS I QUIT
Leave a Reply

