Harold and Maude #MovieReview

Film 179 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1971’s “Harold and Maude”. This Hal Ashby romantic comedy is about a young man named Harold intrigued with death. Harold drifts away from the life that his detached mother prescribes for him, and slowly develops quite a strong and close friendship and eventually a romantic relationship with a 79-year-old woman named Maude who teaches Harold about living life to its fullest and that life is the most precious gift of all. This is one of those films I was not looking forward to watching. And I was right! I lasted 22 minutes before I pretty much screamed “WHAT THE FUCK” as loud as I could. So loud I think the neighbours 3 blocks away heard me. This film is listed as a comedy. Where is the comedy? Is it from all the suicide attempts? Because that sure as hell isn’t funny. Throughout the 22 minutes I watched, I was constantly saying or shouting “for fuck sake” any time Harold tried killing himself. 15 suicide attempts. Clearly, if your child tried killing themselves 15 times, you would get him some help ASAP. But in this film, you have a psychiatrist who isn’t helpful and a mother who thinks this is normal for someone to try and kill themselves and only cares about seeing her child find true love. The only bit I enjoyed was when Maude drove off speeding in a Volkswagen Beetle recklessly. Apart from that… *sighs. Fun Fact of the Film – A cinema in Minnesota showed “Harold and Maude” a record-breaking 1957 times between 1972 and 1974. Overall… I can’t recommend this film. Maybe I need to watch it again to see why it was listed but… I simply can’t watch any more. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say before rage quitting 1971’s “Harold and Maude”

Film – Harold and Maude
Year – 1971
Director – Hal Ashby
Written by – Colin Higgins
Staring – Ruth Gordon, Bud Cort, Vivian Pickles
IMDb Rating – 8.1/10
My Rating – FUCK THIS FILM!!!!
Length – 87 min (1h 27min)
Genre – Comedy, Romance
harold_and_maude_ver3_xlg
We open the film with Harold walking down some stairs
I cannot see a thing except for the writing
Now I can see now that the camera had panned upwards
It’s nice that Harold has a name tag on so we know who he is without having to spend minutes guessing
And Harold’s decided to hang himself
His mother doesn’t care and leaves him
Later that day at a dinner party
What the fu…. Harold is covered in blood and there’s blood all over the bathroom
Better send Harold to a psychiatrist
Enought of that, time to visit a junkyard to buy a used car
Harold decides to visit a funeral – Something he enjoys doing
There’s an old woman having a picnic while the funeral is taking place
Out of all the cars to buy, he picks a hearse
Back home and mom tells him off for buying a hearse
Better see my Uncle who’s trying to recruit me into the army
Who is Nathan Hale?
Harold has now decided to try and kill himself by drowning in the family swimming pool
Back to the psychiatrist
Harold says he’s tried killing himself roughly 15 times
Mum tells Harold to get married!
But first… Another funeral
The old lady is now trying to flirt with Harold
How dare you talk at a funeral!
Who brings a marching band to a funeral
Maude introduces herself to Harold before asking him if he can dance
Maude just stole the priest’s VW Beetle!
Back home and mum is making Harold fill out a dating form
Why does the dating form ask about women running for US President?
Where did he get a gun from??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
Wait… Who’s this form for?
Harold just shot himself in the head and somehow survived! What the fuck?
His mum laughs it off
At another funeral, Harold and Maude visit another stranger’s funeral
Sorry, there’s so many plot holes that I want to quit!
And quit I am doing
Leave a Reply

