Memorias del subdesarrollo #MovieReview

Film 178 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1968’s “Memorias del subdesarrollo”. Or as it’s known in English, “Memories of Underdevelopment”. Based on Edmundo Desnoes novel entitled “Inconsolable Memories”, this Tomás Gutiérrez Alea Cuban drama follows the life of Sergio who decides to stay in Cuba even though his wife and friends flee to Miami during the Cuban Revolution and the 1962 Missile Crisis. It didn’t take long for me to lose interest easily. Nothing actually happened. The film starts with very loud music. So loud it gave me a headache which I still have while typing this. I even turned the volume down and it was still deafening. If this film was good, I wouldn’t know because I was so bored watching it. On that note, if you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching the first 8 minutes of 1968’s “Memorias del subdesarrollo”

Film – Memories of Underdevelopment (Memorias del subdesarrollo)
Year – 1968
Director – Tomás Gutiérrez Alea
Written by – Sergio Corrieri, Daisy Granados
Based on – “Inconsolable Memories” by Edmundo Desnoes
Staring – Sergio Corrieri, Daisy Granados, Eslinda Nunez
IMDb Rating – 7.9/10
My Rating – Lost Interest Easily
Length – 97 min (1h 37min)
Genre – Drama
memories
We open with loud music and riots on the streets of Cuba
Some men drag a dead body away
It’s Havana in 1961 and people are fleeing Cuba
This film has already given me a headache and I’ve only done 2 and a half minutes
Sign here, and here and here…
One man gets one last look at his wife before she boards a plane
COMMERCIAL – Postman Pat has arrived. No black and white cat with him 😦 Just a Leeds Rhinos hat
And we’re back and the man is calling himself stupid for not leaving Cuba
At home he relaxes before tying things on a typewriter
And I’m already bored
All the man wants to be is an author
Who uses butter to light a cigarette?
I’ve lost interest already…. BYE
Leave a Reply

