La Planète sauvage #MovieReview

Film 174 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1973’s “La Planète sauvage”. Or as it’s known in English, “Fantastic Planet”. This Rene Laloux French animated sci-fi drama is based on the novel, “Oms en serie” by Stefan Wul and is about The Oms who rebel against The Draags for treating like slaves and pets. At least…. That’s what I think it’s about! I had no idea what the film was about. From what I gathered, humans are nothing but delicate toys that can be killed easily by aliens who love to meditate. I managed to last ten minutes before my head started hurting from what I was watching. Also, is it me or does it look like child abuse was taking place when the aliens could control the baby at the start of the film with their dog collar and remote control. What was the message of the film meant to be? Is it that we are all secretly being controlled by forces unknown to us? I guess I will never know. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thoughts of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1973’s “La Planète sauvage”

Film – Fantastic Planet (La planete sauvage)
Year – 1973
Director – Rene Laloux
Written by – Rene Laloux, Roland Topor
Based on – “Oms en serie” by Stefan Wul
Staring – Jennifer Drake, Eric Baugin, Jean Topart
IMDb Rating – 7.8/10
My Rating – WTF
Length – 72 min (1h 12min)
Genre – Animation, Drama, Sci-Fi

sT1gRHM8De9vlykuQFcT2Hb3Yvb

I keep thinking this film is called “La planete sausage” – Which would mean “Sausage Planet”
We open with a mother running away from something while carrying her baby
She is defeated by a giant blue hand
I own this hill! Feel my flicking powers!
Mother’s path is blocked by giant things
She is then taken away by the hand before being dropped and dying infront of her baby
Better rescue the baby
Boobs! Boobs everywhere!
Why is someone floating away in a red bubble?
How dare you bring a human into our alien life
I don’t know why but I want to rave to these lights
The baby now has a collar on and can be controlled by remote control
This is child abuse!
The baby is now called Terr
So… Floating in a bubble is part of their meditation?!?
At a council meeting
I have no idea what they are talking about
Who holds public meetings inside a cube inside a coliseum?
I also have no idea what’s happening
Is the leader telling the aliens to learn to read?
Fuck it I quit

Leave a Reply

