The Gold Rush #MovieReview

Film 169 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1925’s “The Gold Rush”. This Charlie Chaplin comedy is about The Little Tramp seeking fame and fortune among the sturdy men who marched across Chilkoot Pass during the Klondike Gold Rush. I’d never thought I’d say this but I had to switch this film off because I didn’t enjoy it. The comedy feels really outdated which means I couldn’t find any funny to laugh at. Going into this, I thought I would like this film but watching this, I slowly became less interested as the film went on. Why is Charlie in the middle of Antarctica? Who is Georgia and why should the audience care about her? Since when could you eat leather? Why is Charlie not getting hypothermia and frostbite for wearing inappropriate clothing in winter conditions? So many questions but none of them were getting answered. A real shame because I had such high hopes going into this and I’m left not looking forward to “City Lights”. When the film was released in 1925, Charlie Chaplin has this to say, “Back of it all – back of the funny clothes, the moustache, and the big feet – I wanted to produce something that would stir people.” Fun Fact of the Film – The boot Chaplin “eats” was made of licorice. Repeated takes saw him end up in hospital so he could get his stomach pumped. If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I managed to say while watching 1925’s “The Gold Rush”

Film – The Gold Rush
Year – 1925
Director – Charlie Chaplin
Written by – Charlie Chaplin
Staring – Charlie Chaplin, Mack Swain, Tom Murray
IMDb Rating – 8.3/10
My Rating – 😦
Length – 87 min  (1h 27min)
Genre – Adventure, Comedy
goldrush
Reading
Why am I only getting audio in my left ear?
Looks like Charlie is being stalked by a bear
Only those listed on his sign can sleep here
Pretty sure it’s not ideal to go hiking in a suit
Big Jim has found the gold!!
That is the worst map I’ve ever seen
Charlie finds someone’s grave and decides to leave
Here comes the storm
Don’t mind me crashing at your place with you wanted man
So much for that tent! It’s now a kite
Charlie has found his way into the hut and starts eating the man’s food
That hut can’t be made well if the walls can move like that
“Get out of here” – OK. Just let me fight the wind
Charlie just tricked the man into leaving his own hut but forgot to shut the back door
I got one bullet left! That one bullet can kill you both
Two men fight over a gun while Charlie runs for cover
Now that’s over with, back to eating my chicken
All three men share the hut for days
They have no food!
Charlie decides to eat salt and candle wax to survive
And that means he has hiccups
The wanted man leaves to get food
Can someone shut that back door?
They have food! In the form of Charlie’s boot
You get the laces and I’ll have the rest
Both of them have eaten the boot
Better hide the gun in the snow
What is happening?
Looks like the man has resorted to cannibalism to survive
Charlie has the gun and the man has an axe
You would think Charlie would get frostbite by not having any shoes on in snow
More reading
Everyone decides to part their seperate ways
Sorry for trying to eat you
Sorry for nearly shooting you
Where did Charlie get his shoes from? I thought he ate them
In the town centre we meet Georgia who going on a sleding trip
I’d never thought I’d say this but I’m bored
Charlie’s in town to cash in on his gold – Where’s Cash4Gold when you need them?
At the Monte Carlo Dance Hall
Georgia is there – Why should I care?
I’m guessing she’s a celebrity
FUCK IT I QUIT
Leave a Reply

