Earth #MovieReview

Film 167 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1930’s “Earth”. Or as it was known in Soviet Russia at the time, “Zemlya”. This Aleksandr Dovzhenko Russian drama is about the process of collectivization and the hostility of Kulak landowners. It is Part 3 of Dovzhenko’s “Ukraine Trilogy” (along with Zvenigora and Arsenal). Does this film have a plot? Nope! I couldn’t find one. I could only manage 8 minutes before I fell asleep. All I remember is that everyone is a farmer and they really like eating apples while watching the wind. The only reason why I decided to watch this film today was because it’s Earth Day and the title of the film is called “Earth”. Watching paint dry would be more exciting than watching this film. I can’t really say much about it as nothing happened. Fun Fact of the Film – Dovzhenko drew on his own life for the story, the character of Semyon was based on his grandfather. If you have seen this film then let me know what you though of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 8 minutes of 1930’s “Earth” before falling asleep

<photo id=”1″ />

Film – Earth (Zemlya)
Year – 1930
Director – Aleksandr Dovzhenko
Written by – Aleksandr Dovzhenko
Staring – Stepan Shkurat, Semyon Svashenko, Yuliya Solnteva
IMDb Rating – 7.5/10
My Rating – I fell asleep
Length – 69 min  (1h 9min)
Genre – Drama
We open with a shot of grass blowing in the wind
There’s some woman being stalked by a giant sunflower
Random shot of apples growing in trees
Meanwhile, two old men stare off camera and talk about death
I’m guessing Simon has just died
Back to the grass
I’m already bored and I’ve only done 4 minutes
Simon says he’ll tell Peter if he’s in Heaven or Hell when he dies
“He plowed the Earth with oxen for 75 years”
What do you mean they don’t give Soviet Leader Medals to farmers?
Does this film have a plot? I can’t find one
Lets all eat apples while the baby cries
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz+
Leave a Reply

