Klute #MovieReview

Film 115 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1971’s “Klute”. Written by Andy & Dave Lewis, this film tells the story of a prostitute who assists a detective in solving a missing person’s case. This is the first installment of what informally came to be known as Pakula’s “paranoia trilogy”. The other two films in the trilogy are 1974’s “The Parallax View” and 1976’s “All The President’s Men”. And good God this was boring! It was so boring I nearly fell asleep. The acting, to me, was dull. The dialogue was even worse. I wasn’t too sure what to expect when I started watching this and I stopped caring after 10 minutes and switched the film off after roughly an hour. I have no idea how Jane Fonda won “Best Actress” at the 1972 Academy Awards (her speech is one of the shortest in movie history). She defeated Julie Christie in “McCabe & Mrs. Miller” as Constance Miller, Glenda Jackson in “Sunday Bloody Sunday” as Alex Greville, Vanessa Redgrave in “Mary, Queen of Scots” as Mary, Queen of Scots and Janet Suzman in “Nicholas and Alexandra” as Empress Alexandra. Even seeing Jane in the nude didn’t make the film better! Speaking of Fonda, in 2011 she had this to say about the film, “After spending a week with prostitutes, I asked Alan Pakula to let me out of my contract. I said, ‘I can’t do it, hire Faye Dunaway. I can’t do it.’ And then I figured out a way to get into it – but I didn’t think I could do it.” If you have seen this film then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1971’s “Klute”.

Film – Klute
Year – 1971
Director – Alan J. Pakula
Written by – Andy & Dave Lewis
Staring – Jane Fonda, Donald Sutherland, Charles Cioffi
IMDb Rating – 7.2/10
My Rating – ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Length – 114 min (1h 54min)
Genre – Mystery, Thriller
Time to record a mixtape at dinner
Why is there a skinny Gordon Brown on my screen?
From dinner to a interogation scene
Gordon Brown’s gone missing! Ok his name’s Tom
Time to see what Tom wrote on this letter
Screw that, let’s listen to this recording during the opening credits
What the hell is “Panavision”?
Time to find our perfect woman
You all failed!!!!
Bring in the new girls!
Tom’s been missing for six months
Time to add John Klute to help us with Tom’s disaperance
We meet Bree who meets with some dude in a yellow shirt
How to chat up women – Say where you’re from and act like a tourist
$15 for what? A ***** or *****-*****
$100 for the whole thing I’m guessing
Let’s have sex on the sofa bed
Why can’t I see boob? DAMN YOU BBC!!!!
KISS ME BITCH
That sex lasted 7 seconds!!!
Time for a candlelight dinner all to myself
Nothing like reading before a good night’s sleep
Don’t you hate it when the phone rings when you’re trying to sleep?
Did she just eat cat food?
Why does she have a drawing of John F Kennedy on her wall?
Also, I can see her nipples through her shirt
John visits Bree and wants answers
I’m assuming she refused to answer
Well… Better spy on her at the agency
Time to see my therapist…. or her agent…. I’m not quite sure
May as well come clean and tell her that I’m a hooker
So… Having sex with strangers makes you feel better about yourself?!?
John’s got himself an apartment in Bree’s basement and has hacked into her phone
Time to visit my fashion consultant at work after hours
Please don’t have sex with him
I am finding this to be quite boring
Her outfit makes her look like Silver Surfer from Fantastic Four
Better start randomly undressing for no reason
And now I see boob!
John watches on like a pervert
Just let him ask you some questions
Fine…. But in my apartment
She has no idea who Tom is
She moved from a 5 star apartment to a shit hole
I’m questioning how Fonda won Best Actress but this is rather dull
Excuse me while I answer the phone
I’m assumming she gave that old man a nude lap dance from what it sounds like
How about I answer your questions in the nude?
That didn’t work!
Even rubbing John’s ass didn’t work
There’s a fiddler on the roof! La-La-La-La-La
Who left this door ajar?
Damn!!! Just a bunch of hippies playing cards
I’m sorry… My date is between me and him…. This isn’t a threesome
I’m assumming Tom records everything and jerks off to the recordings
Nope! He’s fallen asleep
John has a chat with Bree’s Pimp, Frank
I have officially lost interest!!!
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Leave a Reply

