Scorpio Rising #MovieReview

Film 95 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” is 1964’s “Scorpio Rising”. This short 28 minute film looks at bikers. And from watching this film, I get the feeling that they are trying to showcase all bikers as gay/nazi lovers who like wearing leather and reading comic books. Oh, and they also assume that all bikers are drug addicts. This film has no dialogue in at all which I feel doesn’t make the film watchable. However, it does make up for it’s lack of dialogue with it’s choice of music. Songs by Ricky Nelson, Little Peggy March, The Angels, Bobby Vinton, Elvis Presley, Ray Charles, Martha and the Vandellas, The Crystals, Claudine Clark, Kris Jensen, Gene McDaniels and Surfaris. Not a bad collection of artists to play in a short film like this. Overall, I didn’t really enjoy the film but I liked the soundtrack! Nora Sayre of The New York Times reviewed the film in 1975 stating, “Oddly enough, the references to the nineteen-fifties, which seemed dated and rather ponderous in 1965, don’t make the film appear old-fashioned now. Admittedly, one then saw it in an unfortunate context – draped in the mystique of the underground, when a number of inferior films employed some similar imagery, such as the juxtaposition of Christ and hipsters, or close-ups of all-purpose skulls. But after a decade’s education in put-ons, one can savor the impudent freshness of “Scorpio” today.” If you have seen this film, then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1964’s “Scorpio Rising”

Film – Scorpio Rising
Year – 1964
Director – Kenneth Anger
Staring – Ernie Allo, Bruce Byron, Frank Carifi
IMDb Rating – 7.1/10
My Rating – 4/10 for the film (7/10 for the music)
Length – 28 min
Genre – Short
Better build my motorbike again
It’s so dark I can’t tell what he’s polishing
Title of the film and directors name on the back of a leather jacket
He doesn’t have a belly button!
Just had a look at the soundtrack to this film. Some good songs listed
This feels like I’m watching a documentary on how to build motorbikes with James May
So… This is a 28 film set to music! I have no problems with that
That’s the fuel tank slotted into place! Now to connect it to the engine
Can’t forget about the seat
This film is assuming that all bikers wear tight leather clothing
And they’re assuming that all bikers are gay
I don’t need a shirt with my leather jacket
Just standing on a traffic cone! No big deal!
Elvis Presley’s now playing!
YOU’RE THE DEVIL IN DISGUISE!!!
This guy looks like Ace Rimmer from Red Dwarf mixed with Simon Pegg
So.. Bikers like reading Charlie Brown comics in their spare time
Don’t you hate it when a song that you know plays but you’ve forgotten the name of it
That newspaper headline says “Cycle Hits Hole & Kills Two”
I have too many rings!!!!
Now it’s assuming that all bikers are drug addicts
All I’ve watched for the last 17 minutes is men getting dressed or building a bike
Who walks around with a flag in their boots?
Why are they showing clips of Jesus Christ healing a homeless man?
Now I’m confused as to what’s happening
Is this the aftermath of a Halloween party at a nightclub?
Now it’s saying that all bikers are both gay and nazis
Why are they spreading peanut butter all over his testicles?
Why is there the sound of women screaming playing in the background?
Still flashing images of Jesus Christ for no reason
And now we’re at a dirtbike race
Ride that donkey Jesus
Better piss into my own helmet and wear it on my head
I have a AK-47 and I’m not afraid to use it!
This film my no longer make sense but the music choices are good enough
WIPE OUT!!!!
I can’t tell if he’s a biker of Zoro
Woop Woop! It’s the sound of the police!!!
THE END
Leave a Reply

