1967’s “Wavelength”

Film 93 in the “1001 Films to See Before You Die” challenge is 1967’s “Wavelength”. This 43 minute film shows a room! And that’s all you see for the entire film. Nothing else. Don’t expect any acting to take place! Apart from the first 10 seconds where some people move a bookcase into position. Throughout this whole film, I kept asking myself, “I wonder if the creators of this list were meant to place the 1983 film with the same name and someone editing the list listed this film instead.” This film had nothing! If you want to watch a film where all you see if traffic driving past a building then be my guest and watch this because I sure as hell ain’t watching this again. I have now lost the will to live and to cheer myself up, I am now gonna run around in the rain looking for a shop that sells teabags! If you have watched this film and managed to watch more than 5 minutes before switching it off, then let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Here is what I had to say while watching 1967’s “Wavelength”.

Film – Wavelength
Year – 1967
Director – Michael Snow
Staring – Hollis Frampton, Lyne Grossman, Naoto Nakazawa
IMDb Rating – 5.9/10
My Rating – DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME WATCHING THIS
Length – 43 min
Genre – Experimental
Experimental?!? In other words… SHIT!!!
Why does it say “Raitre” on the top right of the screen? YouTube?
Orange screen to red screen
Nothing like starting a film with people moving a bookcase
The traffic outside is very loud
I’m just staring at a empty room with cars driving past
Add trucks to that list now
Is this what it’s like to be a CCTV camera?
Shutting windows makes music play?!?
That radio quality is terrible!
I’M BORED ALREADY!!!!
And I’ve only watched five minutes
Why did you switch the music off? I was enjoying that!!!
NOTHING’S HAPPENING!!!!
My cat is more entertaining than this film
If I wanted to watch traffic, I’d go to local pub and watch cars travel up and down the Ring Road
This noise is hurting my head
Its as if the sound guy shoved a microphone up a cars exhaust and recorded that
STILL NOTHING HAPPENING
Now the screens gone white
That annoying noise is still there
STILL NOTHING HAPPENING!!!!
That noise is now given me a headache
The screen keeps changing colours!
FAST FORWARD
AND STILL NOTHING HAPPENED!!!
All that’s happened is that the noise is now at a higher tone
We’ve zoomed in to a chair!
Now the noise is louder!!!!
I’m fast forwarding and stopping at points
Now we’ve zoomed into a wall
Are we slowly zooming into a picture on the wall?
We are indeed
It’s a picture of some waves
Why is there a police siren in the background
THE END
Leave a Reply

