What I’ve Been Doing in August and What’s Next for Me

So I figured it was about time I’d do one of these blogs where I write about whatever rather than my photo ones. The last time I did one of these was on August 4th. So, what’s happened to me since then. Well, to start I managed to get me a volunteering job as a Radio Presenter and DJ at South Leeds Community Radio Saturdays, soon to be Sundays, at 10am (cheap plug) called “The Other Show”. Why that name? Because we’re different from the others! The first show aired last Sunday and got gret response from fans and first time listeners to the show.

The songs I played were as followed; “Learn to Fly” by Foo Fighters, “Roar” by Katy Perry, “Mama Told Me Not to Come” by Tom Jones & Stereophonics, “Tired” by Stone Sour, “The Joker” by Steve Miller Band, “Girls and Boys” by Blur, “Blurred Lines” by Robin Thicke, T.I. & Pharrell, “World War 3” by Jupiter Falls, “Gabrielle” by Ween, “Behind These Hazel Eyes” by Kelly Clarkson, “Jessie’s Girl” by Rick Springfield, “Hell to Pay” by Deep Purple, “I Want It All” by Queen, “Crystal” by New Order, “Infra-Red” by Placebo, “Disco Love” by The Saturdays, “Propane Nightmares” by Pendulum, “Babylon” by David Gray, “Bad Medicine” by Bon Jovi, “On a Night Like This” by Kylie Minogue, “Applause” by Lady Gaga, “And Love Said No” by HIM, “Ugly” by The Exies and ending with “Hail to the King” by Avenged Sevenfold.

A very mixed selection if I do say so myself. You have your top 40 songs, classics and songs/artists you’ve probably never heard off but after reading this, you might be a bit interested in looking them up on YouTube after reading this. Let me know what you think of the set list.

Enough promoting myself, let’s move on to other things I’ve done this month. One big thing that I started doing was my dissertation coursework for my final year project for university. For those wondering, I do a Photography for Digital Media course at Bradford University, which in a earlier blog I said was a bit shit. The idea I had for my dissertation was to visit locations in Leeds that are on the Leeds Monopoly Board, take photos of these places and look at some old photos of the place that I visited. For example, Marks and Spencer’s started in Leeds Kirkgate Market. Some other locations are Leeds Town Hall, Elland Road (Leeds United Football Club), Carnegie Stadium (Leeds Rhinos), Harewood House, Roundhay Park, Yorkshire County Cricket Club and Temple Newsam. I am currently thinking of a back up dissertation idea if this doesn’t work out. However, I am struggling to think of something although I do want to something sports related. I’ll have to think about but I you have any ideas that could help me, let me know and I’ll even credit you for the idea 🙂

As I’m about to enter the last year at university, I look back at my education life and have a lot of memories. From splitting the root of my front tooth in three places in primary school, to getting bullied to the point of suicide in high school. From getting 4 C’s in my GSCE’s to getting 3 Merits at college to getting a 2:1 equivalent in my second year at university. Not bad for someone with a learning difficulties and a disability (Repetitive Language Disorder) and was told from a very early age from doctors that because of those things that I would have to spend my school years after primary school in special education schools. But where does that leave me today? What do I do after I’ve graduated? Do I let life kick me in the balls and suffer the consequences? Do I go job hunting to end up serving food at Burger King? What will I do? Only time will tell. For now, I’m happy where I am and that, to me, is all that matters right now.

Thank you for reading and I hope you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

