The introduction

So… This is a blog. And I have no idea how to start it. In my head, I have ”Also Sprach Zarathustra” by Richard Strauss playing in my head with smoke and pyro going off in the background. But enough about that. Hi, my name is Dan White. I live in Leeds, England and I’m about to enter my final year of university at Bradford. In my spare time, I work as a photographer for myself working mostly with local bands but have worked in wrestling, rugby and night photography. I don’t work for the wrestling any more as the promotion that I used to work for went into debt and no one has hired me to work with them since the company’s end in October 2011. The rugby was just a one off deal but would like to more of that style of photography, maybe even some football photography. But I would like to return to the wrestling scene one day as I miss it. But I digress. 

I grew up in a small area of Leeds called Cottingley which is not the most glamorous of places. You’ll be lucky if your car hasn’t been stolen or been set on fire. Near where I live is White Rose Shopping Centre (a 20 minute walk from my house) and Leeds United Football Ground (Elland Road to give it’s proper name). The centre of Leeds is either a 15 minute bus ride or a 55 minute walk. In the 20 years I’ve lived in Cottingley (that’s how old I am by the way), this area has had a rise in burglary, murder, suicide and grand theft auto (not the game). I’m serious about the suicide. People will jump out of the 15th-ish floor of the Cottingley Towers and plummet to the ground below. 

Well that took a sad tone. Let’s see if I can make it all better and write a bit more about me. Growing up was never easy for me. From being bullied for a long time to my Repetitive Language Disorder. The Repetitive Language Disorder is somehow linked with autism and is also linked to shyness. If I try to stand up for myself back in the bullying days, the nerves would get the best of me and would ask for a ass kicking. It was only until my high school gave me some counselling on how to beat all my problems that I actually was able to get my life back on track. The Repetitive Language Disorder really likes to kick in when I’m around my friends. They’ll be there talking and I’ll be stood their with nothing to say. I don’t talk to them online either because I don’t know what to say. It’ll be “Hey. How are you? Not to back. Thanks for asking. Bye”. That is literally how a lot of my conversations on MSN happened. Remember MSN? Ah, it’s dead now! Shame. Without that and websites like Facebook and Bebo (remember Bebo) I wouldn’t have had all the friends I have now. Even MSN when I felt comfertable enough to tell whoever I had as a contact about my Repetitive Language Disorder. The amount of messages of people asking about it and what it was. Still to this day, I don’t really talk to people online or see them as much as I use to. I’ll see them at a local gig at a pub in Morley for a few minutes but that’s about it. The last little get together I had was in July after I had spent the day doing photos at a charity music festival called Churfest. The last one before that, that I remember was at a high school prom in June 2011. Two years of not saying “hello” to anyone. Fucking nerves! I hate you!

*breaths. Ah that’s better. Back to the story. Then in 2008, everything changed for a while. In the middle of a ICT lesson in high school, I got news that a wrestling company called 1PW (One Pro Wrestling) was getting new owners. I went and had a look on their forums to see who that was and one of the people who had taken over had the same name as me. I can’t remember who, but whoever was sat next to me looked and my screen and saw my name. In their mind, they must have thought that I was one of the new owners, which isn’t true. But that news spread around that “I” ran 1PW. That that stuck with people for a few months. People figured out after a while that I couldn’t possibly run 1PW at the age of 14. That would be stupid. To this day, there is someone who probably still thinks I ran it. I say ran because the company died in July 2011. In September 2009, I went to Leeds City College of Technology to start a Radio Production course. In total, there was only seven people on the course when I went into the second year. The final project before leaving for university was to do a live radio show at Park Lane College. Cue the nerves. It didn’t help that two days before the show, someone on our course, Naomi, ended up with tonsillitis ruling her unavailable. So I beat the nerves and said I would cover for her and do her hour as well as my own. Her hour was an all female musicians hour but that catch was that every song played for everyone’s slots had to be a UK #1 at some point. Francis had planned everything but later learned that every song he picked wasn’t a UK #1 so his slot was removed. So I went on first and second-to-last. My hour was “songs that were in the charts for a long time”. For example, Bryan Adam’s “Everything I Do (I Do it For You)” as in the charts for 16 weeks. I played that, Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s “Two Tribes”, Adele’s “Someone Like You”, Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” and a few other that I can’t remember at this time. Also on the show was a all male hour, a pop hour, a rock hour and a one hit wonders hour. The one hit wonders hour ended the show, I left college with 3 Merits which was a big thing for me. And still is. 

In September 2011, I went to Bradford University to try Photography for Digital Media. And boy, I have not learnt shit. In the two years, going on three, that I’ve been there, I have learnt nothing useful. No decent feedback on work about how to improve or what I should/shouldn’t do in future. I’ve learnt more from YouTube videos and the random website I could find. And I’m paying for this? Are you fucking kidding me? But through thick and thin, I have stuck with it to see if I can get anything out of this. During my time there, I decided to put my radio stills into use and joined their radio station, RamAir, in November 2011. I host a show called “InVasion” which airs Saturdays at 10am and ends at 1pm (or whenever I get bored as I have done shows that have been 4/5 hours long). Don’t try listening this Saturday as the show is currently on a summer vacation. 

I’ll end it there as I can’t think of anything to write about at this time, then again I am doing writing this at 1am as I can’t sleep. If you enjoyed this, let me know and I’ll consider doing more of these. Thanks for reading

One thought on “The introduction

Leave a Reply

